You Can Do Anything, at Any Age

Published April 6, 2013 by Maryanne

curtain modelMe as a curtain model, 2011, age 47

This photo was from the summer of 2011 when I modeled for Emery Curtains. For a two day shoot I received $600.

I was excited because they wanted a woman in her 40s and it was just days before my 48th birthday. The company chose me from a photo I sent.

I’m only 5’3″ and not exactly stick thin, I’m not what one would typically think when you think of a “model” — but from time to time I did make some money modeling over the years.

While doing swimwear and lingerie fashion shows was fun in my 20s, I like being an older model much better because you get to do things that aren’t as cliche. Over the past two years I played a mom in two online videos, one was for Intel.

And just today I modeled for a photographer who wanted “real” and “ethic” looking people. Immediately I was like, “I’m Italian, sign me up!” And got paid for something that was fun and rewarding.

I will post some of the shots when the photographer sends them to me (and then speak more of the shoot).

To me, modeling is an art form, and just because you hit a certain age you shouldn’t have to stop doing something you love so much. And just because you’re not super tall, super young or super thin, doesn’t mean you can’t do it.

Life is a creative playground, with so many opportunities for those who seek them. The possibilities are endless, so nothing should stop anyone.

That is how I wish to inspire today — is there something you always wanted to do but don’t think you fit the criteria? Think again. Think out of the box. You can do anything you want in life! And I’d like to try everything.

2 comments on “You Can Do Anything, at Any Age

  • I’m 46, and I’ll admit that I’ve had my ‘moments’ of feeling old. Thanks for this post – it’s something I needed to read today. When I think about it, my life really is better now than it was in my 20’s. You’ve reminded me of this – thanks!

  • What do you think?

    