Meet Darlene Foster: “On the Guest List” Cover Designer!

Published March 29, 2014 by Maryanne

SAM_3813Artist Darlene Foster

I was honored to have lunch with Darlene Foster today! Not only is she the cover designer for my book, “On the Guest List: Adventures of a Music Journalist” she’s also a very good friend!

Last fall when I was nearing the finishing stages of my book (which is now available from Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/162903908X) I gave Darlene a photo of me taken in the mid-1990s by my friend Ed O’Brien at a club called Cake in NYC. I felt the photo truly represented what the book was about, being on the guest list in the punk rock circles. And Darlene truly nailed it — where I was coming from and where I wanted to go with the cover — which received tons of compliments!

Cover proof 4“On the Guest List” cover design by Darlene Foster

Darlene Foster also designed the back cover which includes endorsements for the book and a recent photo of me, taken by my husband last June.

back cover proof 2“On the Guest List” back cover

I’m now writing my second book, which is my first attempt at fiction. And of course I’m going with Darlene once again to do the job! You can check out more of her work here: http://www.darlenefoster.com/

And for all you foodies out there, you can check out the menu of Toast in Montclair: http://toastmontclair.com/

It was absolutely delicious! I had the homemade veggie burger, sweet potato fries and a red velvet cupcake for dessert!

6 comments on “Meet Darlene Foster: “On the Guest List” Cover Designer!

  • As I said many times, I think the cover totally ROCKS – Darlene captured your essence perfectly. I also like the more recent photo of you that was included because, while the other photo acknowledges the past, including the recent one shows that you are not living in it – if that makes sense. You know, like you are still living and have so much more to look forward to :)

  • What do you think?

    