The Best Thing in 1954 Was the Bikini

Published June 22, 2012 by Maryanne

Me on the beach, and in my 40s. Not perfect, but enjoying myself. You should too!

A blogger I follow wrote yesterday that she favored the one-piece swim suit over a bikini and put up amazing photos of beautiful women in one-piece bathing suits. She felt that a one-piece is more flattering to a woman’s body.

I beg to differ.

To me, if you pick out the wrong one, a one-piece bathing suit can look as uncomfortable as your grandmother’s girdle!

Some may argue that one-piece bathing suits are more practical for swimming sports, but you can have an “oops” moment with a one piece too as it rides up your ass if a big wave hits you the wrong way. And breasts can pop out of any bathing suit, as well as halter tops and other summer wear, not just a bikini. What the hell, shit happens, give an old man a thrill.

If modesty is an issue, I’d like to see women wearing Victorian swimsuits, which are hot as hell. And if a designer chooses to bring the old Victorian suits to the masses, I am so there.

But until that happens, I’m sticking with the bikini.

In my humble opinion everybody looks good in a bikini! Face it, a bikini is the closest thing you can get to public nudity, and I think most men (and many women) would agree with me that there is nothing more beautiful than a nude woman no matter what her shape, size or age is.

Last night I was on the beach with my husband. There was a woman, in her late 20s/early 30s, romping around in a bikini. She had a big belly with a huge scar underneath her belly button. She was sexy as hell! She didn’t look like what the fashion industry considers a model or someone you’d see on the cover of Sports Illustrated — I thought she looked BETTER! I couldn’t keep my eyes off her. She represented freedom and she looked very happy. There wasn’t an ounce of insecurity in her gorgeous body!

Being a beach fan, I’m always checking out different types of women and you can’t deny how enticing the bikini is. Whether it’s worn by a proud gym-going goddess or someone who obviously likes her beer, it’s ALL GOOD!

I’ve seen stunning women who were very old wearing bikinis — and wow, with a nice tan, a smashing sun hat and ultra chic sunglasses, you hardly notice the wrinkles! Old women really have a knack for working their inner movie star!

Little girls and babies wear bikinis  — hooray for them. I wore one too when I was a little girl and I liked it better than a one-piece because it was easier take off when I had go to the bathroom. I once worked with a woman who thought a bikini on a baby was “disgusting.” I firmly said I disagreed and there was nothing wrong with it.

When the woman left the room, a man who was the father of twin baby girls whispered to me, “I’m glad you defended babies in bikinis. My girls wear them!”

That must have been adorable!

Bikinis are liberating and going to the beach or pool is probably the only time most of us will wear one. And a trip to the beach or pool should mean being comfortable (not sitting around freezing because your wet one-piece suit is making your belly cold because you can’t dry it!). People shouldn’t have to worry about being scrutinized for what they look like, whether they have a belly, scars, a baby bump, tattoos, varicose veins and/or stretch marks.

In other countries women of all ages go topless and it’s okay. Why are we Americans so prudish and mean, hurting others by making catty remarks about who or who doesn’t have a “bikini body”? It’s just so unnecessary. I HATE those tabloids that make fun of actresses who gained weight or have stretch marks. Who cares?! They’re HUMAN!

People are on the beach to get sun, relaxation and exercise. Going to the beach should be a HEALTHY experience, not a time for worrying about fashion, what you look like, and who is judging you. (Mind you, I’m all for fashion, but definitely not taking it too seriously, because it’s not the end all!)

So ladies, please stop picking on other women. Instead, embrace how great it is that God created us all in our very special beautiful ways. Men are easy on us, so let’s be easier on ourselves. And easier on others too!

And if you’re really uncomfortable wearing a bikini, that’s okay too. Just don’t feel pressured into NOT wearing one because of standards set by shallow people.

Just remember, for every shallow person, there’s an artistic person out there (male and/or female) who appreciates all forms of beauty! So, you go girl!

15 comments on “The Best Thing in 1954 Was the Bikini

  • As a man, I have to agree with this. In addition, the reasons you gave for a bikini to be a good thing for the wearer were well thought out and legitimate. As a father, knowing how teenage boys think and act, would I want my teen daughters wearing one? Probably not, but I think if they were self-assured and knew how to handle the ogling, then I’d be more comfortable with bikinis on them

  • You look fab! And so happy too.
    I would have to say, to me personally, not everyone looks good in a bikini but that isn’t to say they shouldn’t wear one. Those woman who choose to show lots of skin at the beach who have a body type that might be deemed undesirable by societies standards always impress me with their confidence. Good on them I say. I certainly don’t have a bikini body, but I wore one all last year. This year though, prob not.

    What do you think about Speedos? lol

    • LOL!!!! I’d sound like such a hypocrite if I said men can’t get away with things a woman can. But they can’t! Ever look at male nudes? It’s just not the same. Women look sexy nude, but men look sexier as rockers, with maybe their pants kinda pulled down but not showing much. Men work better as a tease. I don’t know … seeing naked men that I don’t know is just so goofy. As hot as Iggy Pop looks naked, I’d rather look at Debbie Harry naked. What do you think? (OMG, guys reading this are gonna hate me!!)

  • Lisa recently mentioned she is dumping her old traditional one piece and going back to bikini. She says “you love me no matter what I look like, right?” Of course I do babes… go for it

  • What do you think?

