Vintage Win!

Published July 11, 2012 by Maryanne

Vintage me! (Photo by Darlene Foster, 2010)

I’m a big fan of vintage clothing and love to shop in thrift stores choosing pieces to add to my personal style which is a mixture of vintage and modern.

So I was THRILLED that I won the book, “Style Me Vintage” by Naomi Thompson by participating in Vintage Living’s contest. (Check out Vintage Living here at Word Press: http://vintagelivingmagazine.wordpress.com/)

The contest was to write about a vintage experience.

My story was that when I was a little girl, I had a Bugs Bunny doll that I loved and took everywhere. One day, in downtown Paterson on Market Street, in the 1960s, I was crossing the street with my beloved Grandmother.

I dropped my bunny in the busy street and my Grandmother stopped traffic in order to get my bunny for me.

Long gone are the 1960s and my bunny.

Or so I thought.

One day I was shopping in a vintage store in Asbury Park, New Jersey, with my husband, and found the Bugs Bunny doll! It was old and worn and may have even been the same doll my Grandmother got me — you never know!

Of course my husband got me the bunny! Life is GOOD!

And, THANK YOU SO MUCH, VINTAGE LIVING, for the book! I will not only get some super ideas, but it will remind me of my late Grandmother every time I read it! What a blessing!

7 comments on “Vintage Win!

  • What do you think?

