Sessue Hayakawa

Published August 14, 2012 by Maryanne

Sessue Hayakawa, June 10, 1889 – Nov. 23, 1973

The other night I found an intriguing movie, “The Dragon Painter.”

It was a silent film from 1919!

For the past seven years I’ve really developed an interest in old Hollywood because in my former town, Montclair, they had old movie nights at the public library and that got me hooked.

“The Dragon Painter” was a tragic love story. The painter loses his gift of art when he finds true love.

I love the old Hollywood movies because they are so unpredictable, with surprise endings.

Sessue Hayakawa was considered a sex symbol of his time and a silent screen superstar. My husband pointed out that he looks like an Asian version of Elvis (and he does!)

He also became one of the highest paid Hollywood male stars of the 1910s!

Sessue Hayakawa acted in Hollywood and Japan, retiring in 1966. He then became a Zen Buddhist priest in Japan and gave acting lessons.

One comment on “Sessue Hayakawa

  • I cAn see the elViS!!.. Now I muSt see the film!!..- your Cosmo post wAz amAaazing!!personal and full of edukAtionAl info!!.. Xoxox ◉✄♥☞♬✏✱❋❣✿✯✯❤

    Sent from my iPhone !!!~(*v*)~>^:^<!!! ƸӜƷ*~* ☾~✼* ✼~☀✼♩ ♫_❤*★

  • What do you think?

