No Expiration Date!

Published August 25, 2012 by Maryanne

Me, in my 40s, with a very old car — we’re both classics!

I have to say, I love the ways of the world today.

No one is old anymore unless they want to be that way.

People are having second careers in their 50s and 60s. People are getting married later in life. People are having children later. People are jumping out of airplanes in their 70s. It’s amazing.

“Life is short” is a rule to live by because it really is. It’s great to make the most of every day. That is why I love my husband so much, his lust for life is right up there with mine. We have energy and we are certainly do-ers. Whether it’s being creative or just enjoying ourselves, our life is built on fun.

There is also the notion that “you have your whole life ahead of you.” I agree with this philosophy too. Some things just can’t be rushed and have to happen in their own time.

I’ve always considered myself a late bloomer. I mentioned before that I sold my first art piece at age 40. I had my first article published in a magazine at age 32. And at age 48, I married for the very first time. The rate I’m going, my first book won’t be published until age 50 (I have less than a year for that!) but it’s okay. I’m fine with that.

One of my biggest inspirations is model, Oleda Baker: http://www.oleda.com/about/

This woman is 77 and still models, writes and paints! (You’d be a fool not to check out her website and get a major dose of euphoria from her positive energy!)

It saddens me when I think of people a decade younger than her who just sit around, watch television and stay stagnant.

I don’t agree with the statement “you can’t teach an old dog new tricks” because I’ve been around many old dogs who have upped their game and changed for the better.

I have so many things I still want to do in life. Yet I will not rush into these things, as I have so much on my plate already. Currently I’m kicking major ass as I hone my promotions/marketing skills (something people have been telling me I’d be good at since I was 20 and I never got inspired to do so until a few years ago); I’m going to be editing another book; I’m managing two senior entertainers; and laying the ground work for a book project. All this while still being a great wife and a great friend — not neglecting anyone in my life, not even my kitties! AND exercising and meditating regularly!

Each thing you do in life can lead to something else. The key is to just get out there and do it. And of course, help others “do it” too. If they want your help, that is!

When you don’t let your fears get in the way of your life, you will always have the energy and stamina to move ahead. Age shouldn’t be viewed as an “expiration date.”

It shouldn’t be up to us to decide, “I’m too old for that.” We are human beings that are capable of doing everything without letting age get in the way.

Let God or The Grim Reaper decide when it’s time for us to stop. It’s not in our hands, so don’t make it happen faster by giving up on life.

I’ve seen so many miracles because this planet is blessed with so many strong-willed, inspiring people. One of the most miraculous things I’ve seen is a former co-worker at a health food store who had cancer throughout her entire body. She got cured by the help of a holistic doctor. This woman wasn’t rich, but she started eating whole foods and raw organic foods. I ran into her a few years ago and she was very healthy.

I’ve had my own struggles in life and have overcome them because I refuse to be a victim of circumstances. My eyesight is very bad. It’s 20/20 with contacts, but without contacts it’s -9 (which means my glasses are super thick in order to have 20/20 vision!)

I’ve been struggling with finding an eye doctor I like and two doctors in a row, gave me the wrong prescription. Finally, after a year and a half, I am okay. All I needed was reading glasses to go over my contacts. No one could figure that out and I was struggling with eye pain due to eye strain for a year and a half. One dimwit eye doctor blamed it on allergies and said I was old and my eyes were drying up.

Not true because since I got the reading glasses — my eyes were pain free! Six months of feeling fantastic!

But until I figured out the piece of the puzzle, I continued to work, and write, and edit and do all the things I love. I never let anything stop me. And let me tell you — eye pain is horrible, it’s right up there with toothaches and migraines.

My point is, when there’s a will there’s a way.

My grandmother only lived to 76. She had diabetes and lost a leg. That didn’t stop her from going to Atlantic City, riding roller coasters and flirting with Elvis impersonators.

She was a real hoot!

All my friends are now 49 or older and doing great things: art, photography, music, teaching, being a parent … Life is good for all of us because we embrace it and don’t let age get in our way.

Like old cars, we may need tunes ups and more tender care, but we can still run … and be considered a classic!

13 comments on “No Expiration Date!

  • What an uplifting article!! My father is an excellent example of what you wrote about. He taught chemistry in college until they retired him, then taught chemistry, calculus and physics in a high school academy till he was in his 80’s. He will be 98 in November and keeps his mind active by working cryptograms, sudoku puzzles and crossword puzzles. He still can name all of the 118 elements in the periodic table of elements, even the latest ones added. I agree there is no expiration date when it comes to enjoying life.

    • Hi Oleda,

      Oh, please don’t retire! I don’t know what I’d do without you. *Smiles*

      That is a terrific story! And good for you for writing that letter and telling him he should be ashamed of himself. I’m going to share your article on my Twitter page.

      Love,
      Maryanne

  • Bravo! I really feel like Ive been practicing for this part of my life and the reward is that I get to live it. So many of the responsibilities are lessening and instead of nuts I get to be quirky and interesting. It’s a great time in life. 49 and counting…

  • Ps…!The photo of you is eXxxquiZittte!!!!β—‰βœ„β™₯β˜žβ™¬βœβ–„β–€β–„β–€β–„β–€β–„β–€β–„β–„β–€β–„β–€β–„β–€ βœ±β‹β£βœΏβœ―βœ―

    Sent from my iPhone !!!~(*v*)~>^:^<!!! ƸӜƷ*~* ☾~✼* ✼~β˜€βœΌβ™© β™«_❀*β˜…

  • What an inspiring piece. Your sentiments are so close to my own: some that I’ve known for a long time and others that I’ve learned by experience.

    Instead of sitting all the time, I walk or run and get to the weight room. The weight training especially is good for keeping the joints flexible and significantly slowing the aging process in the cells. If you start in your 40s or 50s and continue, you’ll be able to stay much more active right into your 80s.

    And yes, at age 53 (next week), the groundwork is being laid to be published for the first time.

    Thanks Mary Anne

    • That’s fantastic! I agree about the exercise. I alternate between yoga, light weights, kick boxing and Pilates. I do something every day, even if it’s just 15 minutes, I like to move.

      Congratulations on laying out the groundwork to be published! Is this a book or article? I’m so happy for you!

      • Thanks! It could be either or both. Will keep you informed.

        Yes, I do some flexibility/yoga postures as well.

  • What’s the old saying “You’re only as old as you feel?” I believe in that. If you act old you’ll be old. I’d rather be a Keith Richards or a Mick Jagger and Lisa can be Tina Turner

  • What do you think?

