My First Attempt at Animal Photography

Published September 2, 2012 by Maryanne

Red Panda

One of my birthday gifts was a year membership to Turtle Back Zoo in West Orange, NJ.

How thrilling! I love animals and feel we are so blessed to have zoos to educate us and bring us up close and personal with animals from all over the world.

I never considered myself a photographer in any way shape or form. But inspired by a fellow blogger who also loves animals and frequents zoos often, I decided to try out a new hobby based on my passion for animals. I asked my husband, who is a very good photographer to help me pick out the best pictures of my lot.

This is the first time I saw a red panda up close since the first time I ever saw one in Central Park several years ago. This little bugger was always sleeping every time I visited Turtle Back Zoo.

But yesterday, I got there early and he was out! Before he went back into his little hut, he posed and smiled for me!

He’s sayin’ “I know I’m cute, but who are you?”

Very pretty! Look at those big paws!

What a little lover! (He’s behind glass, which made the photo a little blurry).

My last two visits to the zoo, I saved the Prairie Dogs for last, because in my opinion, they are the best part. They are incredibly lovable. I blogged about them a few weeks ago. They hug, kiss, and cuddle each other. Don’t believe me? Just find them on You Tube. You will actually see them making out like teenagers! It’s just so adorable seeing this close up. They even hold each others heads with their paws while they are kissing. Too cute, I can’t stand it!

Yesterday was no exception. As soon as I approached the Prairie Dog land, I saw a “couple” going at it. But as soon as the “lovers” became aware of me being there, they dropped their embrace and this little guy ran right up to the glass and posed for me.

They are definitely characters.

Hope you like my first attempt at zoo pictures! I look forward to getting better pictures of animals as I take more trips. My membership is good for a year and I want to go in the winter too, when there is snow on the ground (a perfect time for looking at big bad wolves).

6 comments on “My First Attempt at Animal Photography

  • What do you think?

