Super Fats!

Published October 7, 2012 by Maryanne

Another healthy obsession of mine!

I can’t stress how tired I am of going to Whole Foods and hearing vendors promoting their products using the “fat free” card.

I’ve said it once. I’ve said it twice. I’ve said it a thousand times. FAT IS NOT THE ENEMY!

Fat is GOOD for you.

And FAT DOES NOT MAKE YOU FAT!

Fat is a vital nutrient. Fatty acids are good for healthy skin, muscular strength and growth, and vitamin absorption. Fats contribute to a healthy nervous system and can help lubricate your joints.

Now I’m not talking about hydrogenated, saturated fats and trans fats. I’m talking about GOOD FATS such as: avocados, cold pressed olive oils, nuts, fatty fish, and my favorite: raw extra virgin coconut oil (see above photo!)

In addition to the benefits of healthy fats, additional health benefits gained from using raw extra virgin coconut oil include: stress relief, proper digestion, thyroid function, increased immunity, healing infections, relief from high blood pressure and even WEIGHT LOSS!

This stuff just melts in your mouth.  I use this product most often in non-homogenized yogurt and on my Ezekiel low-glycemic raisin bread. And sometimes I’ll use it on a baked sweet potato, the combination of the two tastes like a marzipan treat!

This delicious treat is so tasty, sometimes I just spoon it out of the jar and enjoy!

Step aside super foods and super fruits — make way for the super fats! And I nominate raw extra virgin coconut oil to be at the top of the list!

3 comments on “Super Fats!

  • Ohhh!! I missed sOoo mAny poSts!!! I’ll be bAck tonite..& I hope I can cAtch up!! You alwAys eDukAte me!!! Whole lotta dunno wot a slide rule is for .. LoVvvvve xxxxooxx!!! ◉✄♥☞♬✏✱❋❣✿✯✯❤ Sent from my iPhone !!!~(*v*)~>^:^<!!! ƸӜƷ*~* ☾~✼* ✼~☀✼♩ ♫_❤*★

  • About time someone mentioned this. I never eat anything that say’s it’s ‘reduced fat’ or ‘fat free’ because it means it’s probably full of sugar.

    I love avocados and my friend recently said ‘but they’re full of fat’ – I was astounded. All fat is not bad for you and people just don’t get this.

    Great post! 😉

    • Exactly! I love avocados too, they make amazing dressings. I don’t know why people don’t get it, but it’s frustrating. When I bought coconut oil in a supermarket an old man cashier scolded me that I was going to get fat! Needless to say, now I avoid checking out in his line 🙂

  • What do you think?

