Turtle Back Zoo in October

Published October 7, 2012 by Maryanne

Kangaroo and Wallaby (you tell the difference by the sizes.)

Damn, I got it going on!

Yesterday was the second day I got to take advantage of the Turtle Back Zoo membership I received on my birthday back in August.

Life has been crazy lately with all my work and projects, so it was nice to slow down a bit and take a walk around the zoo, getting fresh air, exercise and practicing my new hobby of shooting animals (and my husband said, “I’m going to have to get you a better camera.” Maybe for Christmas, I hope!)

The above shots were the best two of the day.

In the top shot it appears that it’s mother and baby. But it’s actually two different types of animals (which I learned on Saturday). The kangaroo is much bigger than the smaller wallaby. I also learned that a wallaby is friendlier to humans and a kangaroo can get nasty and knock you out with a punch!

I was very lucky to get a photo of the peacock perched. It looks like he is posing.

Enjoy these and hopefully I’ll keep getting better. This was only my second attempt at animal photography with a digital camera.

4 comments on “Turtle Back Zoo in October

  • “Lucky” you need to come to Australia to get up close and personal with some animals… I recently went on a tour of Kangaroo Island (South Australia) and it was amazing (pictures don’t do it justice). I met a lovely lady from Canada on this trip and we have continued to correspond… she takes brilliant pictures and had a very expensive camera. BTW “Roo’s” especially the Big Red’s will rear up on their hind legs (and tail) and will use their claws to attack.. you don’t go near these big boys!!! πŸ˜€ They don’t usually attack unless you threaten them and in some zoo’s (for want of a better term) they are quite docile having been desensitised to humans. My daughters are “leo’s” (eldest and youngest) and they are huge animal lovers too…

    • I sure do! I’ve heard nothing but good about Australia. Kangaroo Island sounds like a dream! Your daughters sound sweet — I never met an animal lover I didn’t like πŸ™‚

  • What do you think?

