Sexiest Man 2012 – People Magazine Got it Wrong

Published November 16, 2012 by Maryanne

People’s Choice: Channing Tatum

I recently heard that People Magazine named Channing Tatum the sexiest man alive for 2012. Since I’m not really a follower of celebrities, I had to Google who Channing Tatum was. I guess I live under a rock because this dude has an impressive career. He was on “21 Jump Street” and is an award winning actor, dancer, model, etc.

Don’t get me wrong, Channing TatumΒ  is indeed a good looking guy, but opinions are like assholes and everyone has one, so it’s not out of line for me to say he doesn’t make my head spin (and of course that doesn’t matter because obviously millions of other women will disagree with me and that is fine).

Years ago, when the movie “The Truth About Cats and Dogs” came out, Uma Thurman was cast as a model and Janeane Garofalo was cast as a radio host with low self-esteem who was supposed to be the one with the brains, while Thurman was the obvious beauty. But because we are all different and have different tastes, many guys thought Janeane Garofalo was the “real beauty” of the movie. I think if I was a heterosexual male, I may also choose Garofalo, the non-obvious choice, over Thurman, mainly for the fact that Garofalo has amazing thighs! But, again, that said, it’s just me and my opinion.

So, just for fun, if I had to choose the “Sexiest Man Alive” for 2012 (who is in the celebrity media of course, otherwise I’d pick my husband, but he would be too embarrassed, so on second thought I wouldn’t pick him) my choice would be … DRUM ROLL PLEASE …

Austin “Chumlee” Russel, who stars on “Pawn Stars.”

Maryanne’s Choice: Chumlee

To me, Chumlee is hot! He has gorgeous long hair. I love the goatee and his big lazy, dreamy eyes. The fact that he is overweight is not a problem. I’ve always been a fan of chubby guys. They remind me of big ‘ol teddy bears that you just want to hug to death!

And how cool is Chumlee? He’s super cool!

Now I’m the type of girl who doesn’t go around saying this guy’s hot and that guy’s hot. I’m more of the type that will compliment a woman. I’m just not impressed by that many guys and usually when someone goes ga-ga over a certain celebrity, I’m like, “yeah, whatever.” I don’t even know what my taste or type is, but I know when I see it. And Chumlee, to me, is the cutest since Johnny Depp in “Edward Scissorhands” days. Or Sean Penn in “Bad Boys”/”Racing with the Moon” days.

He’s just got that little somethin’ somethin’ — you know?

Ladies, what do you think? Guys, what do you think? Who is your “sexiest” choice for 2012? And how do you feel about my choice?

21 comments on “Sexiest Man 2012 – People Magazine Got it Wrong

  • I think you just like saying “Chumlee” over and over again! LOL!

    Sexiest man is so hard to pick. A few of my sexiest men are Michael Easton (my soap guy), Johnny Depp, Robert Downy Jr., Robert Redford and Benjamin Bratt.

    I have the problem of liking too many too pick one. Tough life, huh? πŸ™‚

  • Depp. Definitely Johnny Depp. But it’s all superficial and once you get passed the square jaws, the strong brow and steely eyes there’s a donkey. Yeah, behind all that handsomeness lies a donkey. I’m sure of it.

    Chumlee has an inviting charm. Maybe it’s just the fascination to watch the words form in his head, then flash across his eyes, followed by a small smile across his lips because he knows what he has to say is profound. He certainly lives in the moment. Perhaps, that is what some folks find sexy.

  • WOW! …My jaw is literally dropped open!! If my life depended on it, I never would have guessed you would choose him. There’s probably at least 1000 other guys I would guessed first. I realize for obvious reasons, this is just for fun, but him Really???!!!

    Anyway, instead of giving my opinion of Chum (which by the way is VERY low!) I’ve decided in the same spirit of “fun” I’m casting my vote for Snookie as sexiest women alive!! -lol!! πŸ™‚

  • You are clearly in the minority as a Chumlee chubber-chaser, and that comes from a woman who married an obese man (much svelter now). I have at times wondered how Chum would look if he could just get down to 200, or for that matter, any of the Pawn Stars guys. They always paint Chum as borderline retarded, but I do recall the one episode where the usually reticent Chum suddenly had an entire arsenal of tennis shoe facts at the ready. And I was like, wow–he knows something. The picture of him in this post makes him look very mafia don, which makes me want to eat some pizza.

  • What do you think?

