An “Intimate” Evening with Smokey Robinson

Published November 17, 2012 by Maryanne

Smokey Robinson (photo swiped from Google, saw no credit)

Last night my husband’s brother Anthony (and his girl Lisa) treated my husband Dennis and I and his other brother Joe (and his friend Eileen) to a most wonderful early Christmas present — going to see Smokey Robinson at the Mayo Performing Arts Center in Morristown.

The show was billed as “An Intimate Evening With Smokey Robinson.” Sexy, right? But Smokey took the intimacy of a live performance to a whole new level. He actually conversed with his fans throughout the entire show!

Smokey hit the stage, sang a song, then throughout the rest of the evening, he picked out names from a basket (from fans who wrote their names earlier in the evening). Whoever was called got to ask Smokey a question and then tell him what song to play!

I was so glad my favorites were picked: “Just to See Her,” “Ooh Baby Baby” and “Crusin’.”

Hearing “Ooh Baby Baby” followed by “Just to See Her” gave my goosebumps goosebumps! I mean, each and every part of my body was moved! And as an added bonus, I had my handsome husband, who I love so much, sitting next to me being very romantic with me as we held hands, touched each others faces and kissed. Yes, it was that kind of evening!

Dennis said, “Smokey is getting the ladies all sexed up!”

I said, “No one is going to have a headache tonite!”

The sound was smooth, a real class act. It was interesting hearing the questions that the fans asked, which provoked many fascinating stories about how Smokey got his name, his work with the Temptations, hanging out with Stevie Wonder (who Smokey felt should be named, “Stevie WONDERFUL.”) etc. Very interesting to someone like myself who didn’t know much about him. But I will now. And I will start buying his work. I need some Smokey in my CD collection.

I was surprised no one chosen asked for his autograph or even to shake his hand. It was an older, more laid back crowd I guess. But what impressed me most was when one fan, before she asked her question, said to Smokey, “It is an honor to meet you.”

And he said, “It is an honor to meet you too” with all sincerity.

My jaw dropped open. You rarely get such unselfishness in this day and age. What an amazing man this entertainer is! I felt so happy for the fan. That was just way too cool.

He also did a little tribute to Michael Jackson by singing a Jackson 5 song, “The Love You Save.”

No encores. It was over way too soon. But how cool is it that I can just You Tube his songs all day!

We love you Smokey!

10 comments on “An “Intimate” Evening with Smokey Robinson

    • Yeah, and funny story … the year before they got us tickets to a Beatles tribute show, but the show was postponed to 2013 because some TV show (I forgot what, but it starred Howard Stern) was going to be filmed in the venue. This was in 2011, so Anthony figured he’d get us another gift instead, so this was a Christmas present for TWO YEARS! LOL! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I’m glad you had a great time. There nothing like music from that era. There’s something so genuine about it.
        So, what do you think you’ll get next year? LOL!

  • What do you think?

