I’m Cited in Wikipedia As a Reference!

Published November 20, 2012 by Maryanne

A professional writer since 1995, so many people ask me what is it like having my name in print.

By now, you’d like I’d be used to it, and I kinda am, but sometimes things just pop up in my writing career that really get me excited. Like when The Aquarian/Arts Weekly got into the Rock ‘n’ Roll Hall of Fame — EVERY SINGLE ISSUE is in the Hall of Fame, which means many issues with interviews I did with amazing musicians, my CD reviews, and even though I modeled for a guitar ad at age 28 that was featured in the Aquarian in 1991, it’s the fact that my writing is in there that makes me get all giddy!

So just a few minutes ago, I was researching something that I wanted to write about on my Maryanne’s Jukebox blog page and I came across this page in Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_people_from_Montclair,_New_Jersey

It’s a List of famous people from Montclair.

And since I wrote for the Montclair Times for seven years, I interviewed a ton of famous Montclairians. But in this particular reference, they mention my article with musician Ty Taylor from 2005. (See reference citation #102). Unfortunately the website was changed after I left the newspaper and many articles no longer exist on the world wide web. But anyone who is feeling ambitious can always go to the Montclair Public Library where they archive all the issues back to the 1800s and they can be viewed on microfilm. (Which reminds me, I used to write a column for The Montclair Times called “Looking Backward” where I’d go view the old newspapers on microfilm and pick out the top stories from 100 years ago today, 75 years ago today, etc. It was a very rewarding thing to get paid for, let me tell you!)

There are so many fine talents who live or lived in Montclair, New Jersey, this list should definitely be more extensive and maybe eventually it will be. Off the top of my head I can think of at least five or 10 more that I’ve interviewed that should be in there.

But, needless to say, seeing my name on this massive list made me very happy this morning!

So, as I once saw on a Lou Christie shirt  …. “Google me!”

13 comments on “I’m Cited in Wikipedia As a Reference!

    • Hi Chris. Yes, the “Looking Backward” column was such a joy to write. I loved writing that and the obituaries. It’s just amazing going through old newspapers and looking at old ads, seeing how much the world changed. That’s one part of that job I really miss.

      • When I wrote “Looking Backward” it had to fit on a certain page (if I remember correctly it was on the same page as “Letters to the Editor”) so for each year, I wrote between a few sentences up to maybe 200 words: 100 years ago, 75 years ago, 50 years ago, 25 years ago, 10 years ago, 5 years ago and one year ago. It was funny because I was there seven years, so for “one year ago” I often got to write about stories I covered 🙂

      • That’s funny! I guess the “one year ago” segment was often the easiest to research. But, like you, I love going through old newspapers and so would think the older segments to be more fun. Thanks again, Mary Anne.

  • I danced with Lou in 1985 at the Warwick Musical Tent in Warwick, Rhode Island. I was at the show sitting in the front row ( had always been a fan). Song came on – Do you want to Dance – Lou pointed directly to me – asked me up on stage & I danced with him – he had on aqua sequined knickers with suspenders – I looked pretty funky also. – no pictures of it unfortunately. – but I will bet that Lou can probably remember that nite also … Have been to many of his concerts since- of course been right up front & I know he has noticed me. – I am 8 yrs younger than Lou. – I have a BUCKET list & YES to hold Lou’s hand or dance with him again is on it!!!! I hope & pray that someone instrumental reads this & passes it to Him. It is my dream. I close by sending good wishes & prayers to Lou and my deepest condolences on the passing of his son. No parent should ever have to bury their child.. I can be reached at email — sandraassanti@ iCloud.com

  • What do you think?

