Steady as She Fauxs

Published November 20, 2012 by Maryanne

Ann Baxter, promotional ad wearing faux fur

With winter right around the corner, it’s time to shop for our warm coats.

It’s always a challenge for me to find something that’s very warm, yet to my liking. I’m more of a summer clothes kinda gal: open toe shoe, cut off jeans, sun dresses, etc.

And since I often work as a reporter, I don’t like to wear bulky coats because it makes it so hard to write and carry stuff like a camera. I need clothing that moves with me.

Ever since I became an animal rights person back in 1986, I just loved to wear faux fur. Faux everything in fact — faux leather (as some call it “pleather”) and everything man made.

Faux fur has been around since the 1920s and with more and more people becoming animal advocates it’s becoming more and more popular.

My late friend, Cyrinda Foxe and Justin Love, 2001

The first night I met my friend Cyrinda Foxe (RIP), I was wearing the above faux fur coat. She was wearing her grandmother’s mink. We traded coats for the evening just to be silly. Of course I don’t normally wear mink, but I made an exception because it was her grandma’s and that’s very special. Plus, I was a little tipsy.

And who am I to judge anyway? I’m such a live and let live person. I’m the one vegetarian/faux coat wearing/no animal testing make-up connoisseur who will NOT JUDGE others. So everyone can just relax around me. It’s all good.

But back to THAT COAT ….

That coat went on so many adventures with me. I saw The Buzzcocks wearing that coat. I met legendary rock photographer, Mick Rock, wearing that coat. I wore that coat almost every day in the winter when I wrote for several New York newspapers.

I may still have the coat stashed away somewhere. Or maybe I gave it to the needy. Once the inner liner ripped, I decided it was time to move on to something else and stopped wearing faux fur for several years, replacing it with other types of coats.

Now this winter, I’m back to faux fur!

SAM_0415My Fab Faux

I found my new FAB FAUX earlier this fall while at a street fair. It was a great buy. Not only does it keep me warm but I can wear big, snuggly sweaters underneath it.

It’s cute, it’s fun and it’s guilt-free.

I’ll wear it in good health — thank you very much!

5 comments on “Steady as She Fauxs

    • Ha-ha! You’re too cute! πŸ™‚

      I’m not vocal about animal rights, but I will plant seeds (gently). I’ve inspired a lot of people to eat several meatless meals per week. The easiest people to sway, I find, are the ones who adore animals to begin with. Sometimes they just don’t make the connection so you have to inspire them.

  • What do you think?

