Children Should Be Heard and Not Herd

Published November 25, 2012 by Maryanne


I can’t hold back.

I am very upset with some of the ugly, disturbing things I’ve been hearing out of the mouths of babes of late.

Ever since Barack Obama won the election, seems a lot of pissed off parents are teaching their children to parrot them by spewing hate and racism. This is not cute. And it is definitely not fair to the child.

Is this what parents want? Do parents REALLY want their children growing up to be 21st century Archie Bunkers? Bullies? Young people who can’t think for themselves? Young people with a herd mentality?

Do these words mean anything to them? Racist. Ignorance. Intolerance. Homophobia.

I’d like to believe the world is moving forward in a positive direction. Do you want your child left behind and viewed in an unfavorable way by others because of the backward things you are teaching him to repeat?

Is your ego that fragile that you have to brainwash your child in order to compensate for what you feel is your loss?

Is creating a “mini me monster” your way of getting back at those who voted for who we thought would be the best leader of our country for the next four years?

Way to go, parents! Teach your kid to be a brat because you didn’t get your way. Shame on you!

Back in the early 1990s I lived next door to a Russian family. The little girl was named Tanya and she was extraordinarily smart. She’d come to my apartment every day and talk to me. I took her shopping with me and to the zoo.

One day she was very excited to tell me that they got to vote in school.

I asked her, “So who did you pick for president?”

She said, “Nobody.”

I asked why.

She said, “Well, if I voted for one president, the other would be mad. And I don’t need a president being mad at me!”

SMART KID! Tanya’s young words showed that she was a child who was going to grow up to be fair and diplomatic. And her words came from a beautiful source — her heart! Not something she overheard her parents say on their cell phones. If all parents raised this child like Tanya’s parents did — to think for herself — the world would be a much better place to live in!

From the lyrics of the song “The Greatest Love of All” written by Michael Masser and Linda Creed, made famous by Whitney Houston:

I believe the children are our future
Teach them well and let them lead the way
Show them all the beauty they possess inside
Give them a sense of pride to make it easier
Let the children’s laughter remind us how we used to be

19 comments on “Children Should Be Heard and Not Herd

    • It always breaks my heart when parents encourage hatred or bullying and that kind of stuff coming out of little mouths is so disturbing to me. I think it’s worse in this day and age because parents are so busy and oblivious to things going on around them, so they don’t censor what they’re saying, they’ll be yakking on the cell phones and the kids pick up on it. Then the kids repeat it. A parent hears and thinks it’s funny. Some may have been pissed or offended by what I wrote, but I have a major issue with this. It’s just not okay.

    • I hope not. I was bullied in school (not for race but for being small and quiet) and it’s an awful thing. And what is worse today is that kids don’t have an escape from it. In the 1970s I was able to come home, close the door to my room and listen to records. Now, kids have homework on the internet, so there is internet bullying. More kids are committing suicide. It is really awful. If the book I’m writing ever gets finished I’m contributing 10 percent of proceeds to anti-bullying foundations.

  • I believe the children are our future
    Teach them well and let them lead the way
    Show them all the beauty they possess inside
    Give them a sense of pride to make it easier
    Let the childrenโ€™s laughter remind us how we used to be

    It’s the parents, who are the teachers, that are the problem. This attitudes are passed from parent to child for generations. It will never change regardless of societal progress. For example, approximately 150 years after slavery was abolished America is still dealing with black/white racism. It’s embedded deep in our culture and not only does it include blacks, but every other non-white race. No matter how strong my relationships are with my black friends the shadows of slavery and Jim Crow will always be present.

    It will never change. It will never go away.

    It’s in every aspect of what is taught to our children for what we want them to believe. What we believe to be right and wrong. What we want them to change or keep when they become contributing adults to society. For some folks racism, et al, is wrong while for others it is right. It’s just illegal to practice some beliefs.

    I don’t like Obama and supported Romney in the recent presidential election. With that knowledge what is the first thought about me that comes to mind? I am sure there were some specific lables about my positional beliefs regarding wealth, race, homosexuals, etc. which crossed your mind. It’s okay. It’s what we’re taught.

    We are all tainted by the teachings passed down to us. We are also blessed by the teachings that have been passed down to us. The value of those teachings to the human race are all dependent on who did the passing along to the impressionable child.

    As for the smart girl. She will one day need to make a choice. Some will hate her for her choice. Some will love her for her choice. Some will side with neutrality and fairly and diplomatically respect her choice. Those choices will be decided from her lessons.

    • Many valid points here, Jim, but please don’t assume specific labels crossed my mind when you said you voted for Romney. Of course there are soooooooooooooo many issues to consider when dealing with choosing a candidate and both sides have their good and bad to offer and people will pick what they feel will be best for them, and it’s not necessary the stereotype.

      I just don’t like people teaching their kids to spew hate because of what they overheard their parents say. (And then everyone laughs and thinks it’s cute or funny). Some will grow up and learn what’s right and wrong. Sadly others won’t.

      That is the main purpose of why I felt compelled to blog today. It had nothing to do with the outcome of the election, which wouldn’t affect me one way or the other because I go out of my way to make the world a better place every blessed second of my life no matter where we are at in politics.

      • I wrote “You” in generality and not directed at you. I was just making a point about how our minds are conditioned, consciously and subconsciously, with preconceived notions about folks of different mindsets. It was great post and and stirred the emotions.

      • Thanks Jim, and I’d like to add that the conditioning of people’s minds can change with their moods as well, which can really suck for some kids if their parents aren’t sure which rules they want to go by and keep flip flopping on them. (I’ve seen this happen way too much!)

  • What do you think?

