An Afternoon in Sommerville

Published November 26, 2012 by Maryanne

One of my favorite places to go with my husband on a Sunday afternoon is New Jersey’s historic town of Somerville. Check out  the official website: http://www.somervillenj.org/

Yesterday was a perfect winter day. Cold, but sunny. The kind of day you could run around all over the place, from store to store and feel the cool wind on your face. Delightful.

Somerville is gorgeous, much more scenic and prettier than shopping in a mall. There is one area where they recently closed off the street and made it all about shopping. No chain stores, just all unique mom and pop places — with great service.

There are quite a few antique shops, shops for rock ‘n’ roll clothing, comic book stores, etc.

My score for the day was an official vintage Christmas dress! I will show photos of me wearing it after Christmas Day, but until then I want it to be a surprise!

The story behind my vintage Christmas dress is that it was brought into an antique shop, along with another dress. Both dresses were hand made and worn by two ladies who are now in their 90s!

The dress, a size 4 or 6,  fit beautifully — maybe a tad too big, which is perfect for Christmas eating. Ha!

I am beyond ecstatic! The shop owner and my husband both said I looked “adorable.”

While my husband would like to see me wearing my Steve Madden black dressy flats with the dress, I think I’ll opt for my new winter boots instead, to punk it up a bit.

My husband found a few vintage holiday decorations, like an old Santa that lights up, similar to this one:

And we also found a talking baby Rudolph, with a nose that lights up and he says, “Mama” “Papa” and “Santa.”

My husband wanted to buy it for me, but trust me, we already have enough Rudolph in the house!

As the day came to an end, we were happy to come home and snuggle with our kitties.

That is what winter is all about, short days with a helluva lot of fun squeezed in!

6 comments on “An Afternoon in Sommerville

  • Vintage Christmas stuff is the best! Can’t wait to see the dress. When my Grandma passed and the relatives battled over what they wanted of her stuff, I only wanted her Christmas ornaments. And got them. Now every season I think of her more. We put our tree up this weekend.

      • That’s why I love your blog. Never know what thoughts and stories and images it brings up for me (smiles)… hey, speaking of NJ is there a Tabor Heights or is it just Mount Tabor now?

  • What do you think?

