A Beautiful Day!

Published December 11, 2012 by Maryanne

beautifulMy husband took this one, one of my favorite photos

I was dreading today for about a week now because I had to make a major change in my business, concerning two other people who hired my services as an independent contractor for promotions and marketing.

When it comes to business, I am definitely a “people pleaser.” I don’t like to let people down and I do not like to say “no” to anything. If there are 24 hours in a day, I will make that day be 26 hours. I’m a former workaholic, but I now know where to draw the line and have a beautiful, balanced life.

A few weeks ago another opportunity came up for me that I ended up enjoying very much because it’s challenging and I love to learn new things. So I had to make room for this opportunity by eliminating something else in my working environment. I chose to eliminate the above mentioned only because the other stuff I am doing involves clients who have been using my promotions services since 2009 and I couldn’t possibly let them go. Then I need half a day to do some personal assistance for another client and the other half of the day (and some evenings) to do my writing/editing jobs and/or work on my book. This makes up a full five day week of about 30 hours, but now I’m helping out a health food store on Saturdays until January too. (And I think I may love that the most of all the work I’m doing!)

I hate saying good-bye, but I am just one person with only so many hours in a day. But as the old saying goes, you must leave something behind to move forward.

I am blessed that I had such a positive reaction to my decision. That I will be missed. That I could still be of service in the near but with less hours. That I got a group hug when I said “good-bye.”

Because of this positivity that happened early today, I was on cloud 9. Moving ahead is a wonderful thing. With the new opportunity I will be learning more administrative skills, which I desperately need to know in life. I was once told by a former client that I am “too creative” for administrative work. I want to prove that wrong. I want to do good and be successful in everything I can try. I don’t want to be afraid of anything life has to offer.

I couldn’t wait to share the good news with my husband. He was so happy and so happy for me.

Isn’t it great when things just fall into place like that? So effortlessly and better than you could have imagined?

And what is even better, I’m finally all caught up in regard to all the business I lost due to Hurricane Sandy. I’m, as they say, “back on my feet.”

I spent the rest of the day promoting my musical clients. Now I’m excited about getting back to the new gig tomorrow. I have a blessed beauty of both worlds — working at home and getting out a few days. Life is so great! My husband is usually off on Tuesdays, so it’s fun to work at home and be with him and the kitties, working with nice music playing in the background.

Our home is so peaceful and loving.

Christmas cards have started to come. We’ve been married over a year now, but I am still so excited to see my name as a “Mrs.” on the envelope.

Friends are answering my emails in regard to our yearly holiday party on Christmas Day Night.

The days are shorter, but it’s so cozy being in our warm home.

I look forward to each day, waking up, burning candles and incense, working out and making breakfast. Doing all kinds of work that I love and having an amazing person in my life to support me.

Then at the day’s end, I love to have a nice dinner, maybe a glass of wine, and snuggle with my love.

I think life just works out when you are living in harmony with all life has to offer.

And that’s when you know, you are doing something right.

12 comments on “A Beautiful Day!

  • AnD you deserVe it!!!.. Xox ◉✄♥☞♬✏✱❋❣✿✯✯❤ Sent from my iPhone !!!~(*v*)~>^:^<!!! ƸӜƷ*~* ☾~✼* ✼~☀✼♩ ♫_❤*★

      • Amen to that! And you get the award for being the best new “comment-er” — thanks for jumping right in and not being shy! I recently posted on someone’s blog for the first time — someone who followed me! — and the guy asked, “Who am I speaking to?” OMG, that freaked me out — I thought, we were all amongst friends, no? 🙂

        That said, glad to see someone who doesn’t bite, Welcome to Maryanne Land! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  • Congratulations on your new journey in life. You know instinctively what is right for you to do and you just do it. That’s what I admire about you.

    I love this post. It is inspiring and beautifully written, as all your work is.

  • What do you think?

