First Christmas Without Fawn

Published December 19, 2012 by Maryanne

FawnFawnie, RIP: 1995 to 2012

Earlier this year my mother’s beloved dog Fawnie died in her arms.

My mother got Fawnie as a puppy in 1995 to keep her mind occupied the year my beloved Grandmother passed away.

Fawn, turned out to be the best dog I’ve ever known. Now mind you, I’ve had many wonderful dogs over the years and can tell so many stories about them. Taffy, the toy poodle who, as a child, I always “accidentally on purpose” let outside because I knew when she came back, a few months later she’d give birth to a litter of puppies. Misty, the beautiful German Shepherd who was so good with children that she let me touch her eyeballs when I was a little girl. (Her eyes were so beautiful, big auburn marbles that I couldn’t help but touch). And then there was Cher, my pocket-sized poodle who jumped high in the air whenever my great grandmother said, “Bye-Byes!” which meant she’d get to go outside.

And just like all the other pets, Fawn was super amazing. She was a little lover. She was always happy to see people, jumping up and down. She loved to play with my cat, Derick (Derick was bigger than Fawn who was a mere six pounds). Fawn hated walking on a tiled floor and preferred rugs, so whenever she went into the kitchen to eat, she’d do this cute little back-step as she returned to the dining room rug — as if that would get her off the cold floor faster.

But the cutest thing of all was one day when she was over, my husband had Bruce Springsteen playing. Fawn was on the couch and “Old Dan Tucker” came on. Fawn jumped off the couch and started moving her front paws, tapping left to right — in perfect time with the music!

She was a little doll, just absolutely precious. Knowing Fawn made me a Chihuahua fan, whereas before, I never really thought much about them — just that they made a lot of noise. But Fawn wasn’t yappy like that. She was just this perfect little thing. People who weren’t necessary dog lovers or Chihuahua lovers always took a liking to Fawn.

Now we will all have our first Christmas without this precious little pet (who exchanged gifts with my cats). After Fawn died my mother got two new puppy Chihuahuas, Oliver and Ally. I met them over Thanksgiving. They are cute and funny.

When I see my Mom this Christmas Eve, I will try not to bring up Fawn, as I do not want to upset her. I will have a blast seeing my Mom, sister, nephew and the new puppies. It will be a beautiful, fun day. And Fawn will be close to my heart  — close to all of our hearts.

The best way I can deal with death is something my beloved Grandmother once said: “You have to make way for the new generation.” And there are many new puppies (and other pets) out there just waiting to be adopted and to have your love! No two pets are alike, but they all share ONE thing in common — their ability to love unconditionally!

In memory of Fawn, do me a big favor today and hug your pets for me!

Tell them: “This is a Christmas hug from Maryanne!” 🙂

17 comments on “First Christmas Without Fawn

      • I am so sorry for your mom’s and your loss. There are few things worse than the death of a beloved animal. It is simply gut-wrenching.

        You will always remember the wonderful, funny, and loving moments you had with her for the rest of your life.

        There is nothing like the unconditional love you get from a pet.

        I hugged my kitties for you. They are sick of me already, I just mush them so much!

  • Very sorry for your loss. Maryanne. As a dog lover, I feel your pain. Great point about other dogs and puppies out there waiting to be adopted. So often we get caught up in our own feelings when we lose a pet we forget about the animals that could helped.

  • Hi Maryanne, lovely story… very sweet; I know you are an animal lover from your previous blogs. We had 2 guinea pigs and one passed this year (after having them for 2 years). This was very sad for us girls as my daughter would love a dog but due to living in a townhouse with no yard we can’t have one. But we have “Smoothie” (the surviving guinea pig) to hug and appreciate today. Take care, have a lovely Xmas… 😀

  • Reading your post made me teary eyed. It’s odd that I read this post today because just this afternoon I was thinking about my beautiful “Brownie” who passed several years ago, but I think about him often. I loved him with all my heart. It was so hard to let something go that you loved so much. So I’m hugging him in my heart, I know he can feel it.

  • What do you think?

