Happy New Year!

Published January 4, 2013 by Maryanne

Happy New YearRetro image swiped from Google

Okay, let’s try this again!

Two days ago I wrote a Happy 2013 but it didn’t turn out as positive as I normally am, which is good in one way because life isn’t always peaches and cream and I do like to “keep it real,” but bad in another way because I am not one to dwell on the negative and I think even when venting (which is healthy in some ways) getting responses to negativity only snowballs it and that is not what I am about. Moving forward I should only vent to my husband or trusted friends/family.

So I deleted that entry.

My negativity was on my business. After Hurricane Sandy, business took a nose dive and I wasn’t a happy camper. My webmaster also had a problem getting my site going because of some technical problems, which magnified my woes and since I am a perfectionist, it was like the world falling apart for me. I wanted my website to look perfect when I sent out my “Happy New Year” email and it took longer than expected to get it to my high standards.

Then once the website was fixed — miraculously so was my business! The updated website went out in my mass email and THREE old clients came back — two within minutes of the email going out!

THAT, dear readers, is the power of positivity! (My home-based company Pear Tree Enterprises website, www.peartreeenterprises.com always offers good words to my clients and readers — and whenever I am down, my husband says, “Get some of that Pear Tree spirit!”)

Needless to say, I am so busy I am turning down work again for next week!

So aside from my business being back on track, I had a few wonderful days during the time between Christmas and New Year’s. On Sunday, the first day my husband and I had together in a long time that didn’t involve holiday shopping or house cleaning, we took a couple long rides. First to a restaurant called Cracker Barrel where they have lots of retro goodies. It was a bit of a challenge eating there because there weren’t many vegetarian options, as even many of their vegetables are cooked in a meat broth, but the waitress was wonderfully patient with me and we had a super romantic time dining right in front of the fireplace.

As we were leaving, we spotting an adorable Teddy Bear that sang, “Twas the Night Before Christmas” in a children’s voice. Dennis and I fell in love with the bear and just couldn’t bear (pun intended!) to leave him behind! He was just so cute.

New Year’s Eve we went to Imperial 46, a wonderful Japanese restaurant in West Paterson — er, excuse me Woodland Park (the fancy new name because residents didn’t want to be associated with the negativity of Paterson due to the high crime rate, but screw you imbeciles who voted for the new name, Paterson is an amazing town with so much culture, museums, great schools and a grand falls — just 15 minutes from NYC! You are totally FOOLISH for not wanting to be associated with it!) ANYWAY, Imperial 46 is special because they serve sushi with brown rice. I was so happy I got to use a little Japanese which I learned several years ago while planning a trip to Japan that I never quite made.

After that we visited my Mom, sister, nephew and their doggies and had a blast. Then rang in the New Year with Dennis’ father, brother and his girlfriend. We had so much laughs.

The next day we went to a party that our friends Daniel and Patty had at their home in Neptune (Jersey shore) which was spared from the storm. After the party we took a ride to the beach, which looked like a war zone.

New Jersey beaches are so gorgeous in the winter and you’ll always see people walking on the beach with their dogs no matter what season it is. But the entire Belmar boardwalk was demolished. We saw homes that were destroyed and evacuated. It definitely put a sad tone on the day.

The streets nearest the beach were blocked off and only residents were allowed to drive on those roads. We took a walk and it was just too depressing. I said it reminded me of two things: 1. The devastating ending of “Planet of the Apes” where everything was destroyed and 2. 9/11. The exception was that Mother Nature did this, not man.

So that was my last few days in a nutshell.

In spite of all the fun I was so downhearted because of my business being slow. I felt de-energized and so exhausted. I also had some sciatica which I am sure was due to stress. So I went to acupuncture last night and slept almost around the clock. My sciatica is completely gone and I am coming to life! I was starting to feel a little positive with two new clients coming back, but then I went through the roof when the third one called today!

Next week it will be a typical Pear Tree week. I am happy beyond belief!

I wish everyone a happy, healthy and prosperous 2013!

I am especially excited because this year is a milestone for me, as I will be turning 50 on August 19!

7 comments on “Happy New Year!

  • So happy that you are happy, and I love your picture on your Pear Tree Enterprises website. My mommy turns 50 at the end of this month. She’s pretty excited, too. I like to think that I help to keep her young!

      • You are so lucky to have teenagers. I think they’re sticking around because you are such a good human.
        My mommy does not have her own blog. My daddy says that the time she spends “managing my empire” (he’s actually started calling me “The Empire”) doesn’t leave much time for anything else. I think I’m worth it!

  • Thanks again Maryanne; I always enjoy reading your snippets on life. As usual you have some interesting topics (I want a bear that sings “tis was the night before Xmas” LOL) It is hard to stay up beat and positive when everything crashes at once; it is great that your husband is so supportive… 😀 Good Luck for 2013

  • What do you think?

