The Spine is Your Lifeline

Published January 17, 2013 by Maryanne

The Water's Edge 2011 - for face bookPhoto of me by Darlene Foster, 2011

female spine

Monday night, after dinner, all at once I felt absolutely horrible. I thought I had food poisoning. My head got all congested, I was wiped out, had a horrible migraine, it felt like I was coming down with something. (I mentioned when I wrote about The Carrie Diaries I couldn’t even stay awake for a show I looked forward to for weeks!)

Tuesday, I struggled through the day, booking my music clients (but I did get bookings for all of them!) Near the end of my work day, I could barely work. My eyes hurt so much when I looked at the computer. It was another night of being in bed early. And another night of having a migraine.

By Wednesday I was going to work onsite for two chiropractors that I promote with marketing services. I was so out of it, it was torture leaving the house (and from me — a person who loves to work, this was just not right!) I woke up with another migraine.

My husband expressed his concern. He said, “I’m worried about you. You’re not used to being sick.”

I said, “I’ll be alright. If anything I’ll come home early.”

So I was at the health care center, trying to promote. But I was really struggling, afraid I wouldn’t do a good job, afraid I’d fall asleep, wondering if I could just make it three little hours until lunch. I hadn’t even eaten breakfast. Whatever was in my system made me lose my appetite. And I was starting to feel very weak. It was painful to look at the computer, my eyes were so heavy.

Then I had an a-ha moment … perhaps a chiropractic adjustment would help knock whatever it was out of my system?

Dr. Bob White gave me an adjustment. “Adjustment” is the word chiropractors prefer to use. They don’t like to say, “crack.” But damn, that was the biggest crack I ever heard in my neck and instant relief! INSTANT!

I was like, “Whoa, I feel so much better!”

Dr. Bob said, “Magic, right?”

My whole sinus area cleared up and I felt like I had a brand new head.

So I go upstairs to work and started feeling better by the minute. Happy. Healthy. Positive. Even euphoric.

My migraine went away, my vision was sharper, my eyes didn’t hurt anymore. Then as the day went on I got my appetite back. And so much energy! I woke up this morning so refreshed and back to my normal happy Maryanne self!

I asked the other doctor, Dr. Jason, why a chiropractic adjustment could help my eyes feel better. He said before the adjustment there could have been pressure on my optic nerve.

Fascinating, right?

I’ve been going to chiropractors for years (on and off) and getting back relief and that is expected, but having a horrible common cold cured right before your very eyes is downright miraculous! This is definitely a first hand testimony to the benefits of chiropractic care!

If anyone reading is in the New Jersey area, here is the website for Dr. Bob: http://www.advancedintegratedhealth.com/

In addition to chiropractic care, they have other natural options for hypothyroid, type II diabetes, weight loss, etc.

It’s just amazing how the body can heal itself naturally! No need for pills or drugs.

La-la-la-la, let’s all have a great day today!

9 comments on “The Spine is Your Lifeline

  • AmaaaZing & enlighteNing..& I’m sOoo thrilled you feeL better.. You hAve opened yet !!!another poRtAl f0r investigAtion!! Xox◉✄♥☞♬✏✱❋❣✿✯❤

    Sent from my iPhone !!!~(*v*)~>^:^<!!! ƸӜƷ*~* ☾~✼* ✼~☀✼♩ ♫_❤*★

    • Thanks Shaolin, it’s so scary when you’re not used to being sick and all of a sudden you think you’re going to die a mysterious freak disease death!! I think parents should definitely consider chiropractic care for kids who have the flu! I’m lucky I just needed one adjustment, but some with immune systems that aren’t as good might need several to heal completely.

  • Amazing photo of you! I’ve never been to a chiropractor but your experience just floored me. I’ve been suffering from sinus issues (an infection initially) since before Christmas. The thought of a session or 2 with a chiropractor is now very tempting. Thanks for this info. One question: Is the “adjustment” painful?

    • Thanks for the compliment. The adjustment isn’t painful at all, just weird in the neck area until you get used to it. For some reason, the neck area always freaked me out in the beginning, but I love having my back adjusted. The trick is finding a chiropractor that is good. They are all different and they also have to get used to your body too. The chore of finding a good one is the painful part. Another option is acupuncture (that isn’t painful either). My husband had acupuncture treatments which cleared up his allergies. Good luck in your search and let me know how you do 🙂

  • I’m happy you are feeling better.

    I have full faith in chiropractors. A chiropractor was the only person that helped me with bad back issues after an accident. Before that, it was just pills, pills, and more pills!

    I also the photo. Very beautiful and haunting.

    • Exactly! Why take pills when your body can do the work on it’s own with a little help from a professional. Now I’m extra happy because since that adjustment my night vision is clearer! I’m going for another one today 🙂

      And, yes, another amazing Darlene photo! She needs to have a book of her work 🙂

  • What do you think?

