Reach Out and Read!

Published January 29, 2013 by Maryanne

SAM_0225NJ Congressman, Bill Pascrell (photo by Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta)

Today I had an awesome assignment to cover for The Paterson Press!

I got to meet NJ Congressman Bill Pascrell (and shake his hand!) and watch him read to a bunch of children in support of the NJ Division of Reach Out and Read (http://www.reachoutandread.org/interstitial/?ref=%2f).

I’ll let my article speak for itself (and there are a ton of cute kid photos!): http://thealternativepress.com/towns/paterson/articles/a-congressional-reading-of-if-you-give-your-mous

My first published article of 2013.

I’m going to definitely do a lot more writing this year. I reached out to another online editor and will be covering some local town council and government meetings, which will be some unexplored territory for me as a reporter. I’m having a meeting with the editor tomorrow at 1 p.m.

 

14 comments on “Reach Out and Read!

  • I love thiS one soooo muCh!!◉✄♥☞♬✏✱❋❣✿✯✯

    Sent from my iPhone !!!~(*v*)~>^:^<!!! ƸӜƷ*~* ☾~✼* ✼~☀✼♩ ♫_❤*★

  • I am really impressed with your article on Congressman Bill Pascrell and the fact that he would take time out of his busy schedule to read to the kids. A principal once told us that if you read to your kids, that they will do well in school and that proved true.

    Congratulations on an excellent article.

    • Yes, that’s true! My mom always read to me and used flash cards too. I did very well in my early years in grade school, always ahead of the class. Some of the stories I memorized too 🙂

      • Your mom reading to you reinforces what the principal told us and explains why you were head of your class. Our oldest son actually read a book to his day care class, before he even started public school. My daughter became an excellent speller and youngest son dropped out of school in the 11th grade, because he wasn’t being challenged in school. He was reading books like History of the Orient during his classes, while ignoring what was going on in class and University of Oklahoma offered him a $30,000 scholarship, but he couldn’t take advantage of it since he had dropped out of school. He went to college for 13 years and is still taking courses in college in Portland, Oregon and graduated from Portland State several years ago.

      • That’s really interesting. My husband and I always have discussions that if kids aren’t listening in school, the teacher isn’t a good one. Also, they pay more attention to the kids they connect with and ignore the others. I had that problem too, growing up. Teachers need to learn to connect with everyone.

      • I was fortunate that teachers tried to help me, even though I had a history of failing subjects. I failed Algebra I and Algebra II, Biology, French and English IV. Still finished in four years thanks to three years of summer school. Bad part is that my dad was working at Oak Ridge Nuclear Institute in Oak Ridge, Tennessee as a chemist those three summers, so missed out on the trips.

    • Thanks so much for your kind words! Yeah, Bill seems like he’s in great shape so I wouldn’t be surprised that he was in a tennis tournament. I miss The Paterson News! That’s the paper my family got when I was a kid. (I think we discussed that awhile ago, but I still love talking about that paper, even remember our paper boy who had a crush on my little sister!)

  • What do you think?

