R.I.P. Little Bear

Published March 10, 2013 by Maryanne

pug puppyPhoto from Google, similar to Little Bear

Another family dog died. Yesterday my Mom told me the sad news that Little Bear, my sister Kim’s 17-year-old pug died of natural causes.

The last time I saw Bear, around the holidays, he was very sickly. Thin to the bone. We all knew it was just a matter of time.

But Little Bear had a wonderful life and a great testimony, thanks to my Mom.

Mom got Little Bear for Kim from a breeder. About a week after she got him, the puppy wasn’t walking right. Then two after that he wasn’t walking at all, but dragging his body around on the ground. None of his little legs were working. And this poor thing was just a puppy! It was devastating to see a little thing so helpless.

My Mom called the breeder and expressed the concern.

The breeder was such an idiot and said, “You can bring the dog back and we’ll give you another one.”

My Mom said, “Why, so you can put him down?!” She would not have it! She continued, screaming, “We don’t want another dog! We’re attached to this one now. I’LL TAKE CARE OF HIM!”

It was only the mid-1990s and not much was known about holistic health, but my mother found an all natural therapy on the internet that would help the puppy’s bones. It was some natural bone health product that was put in the puppy’s food. Within two weeks Little Bear was not only walking, but running!

That summer my sister, Kim and I took Little Bear to a Walk For Animals fundraiser. The little puppy that couldn’t even walk not too long before did a two-mile walk with us! At the end of the walk, Kim, Bear and I had our photo and story in the local newspaper as a “success story.”

Imagine — a puppy that couldn’t even walk two months earlier, fixed up and good as gold!

Thanks to my Mom, Little Bear lived a long happy life. He was a good dog and will be missed.

 

22 comments on “R.I.P. Little Bear

  • A timely story. I am making preparations to euthunize my cocker spaniel, Valentine, this week. She has a heart condition which makes it difficult for her to sleep and have a quality life. She is still very much a puppy at heart, full of life, but can longer live it as she should. This morning she finally went to sleep after being up for almost 30 hours.

      • Yes, it does seem like they are always with you. My mom’s other dog died a year ago and she says it seems like she’s in her bed with her at night.

      • Aww, that’s really comforting! My younger kitty sleeps with us. He gets my pillow, I get half my husband’s and half the cat’s — ha-ha! These animals — what they do to us, they’re our little hearts and we let them get away with everything πŸ™‚

      • haha, totally. They are our hearts. I remember my ex had a kitten who insisted on sleeping on my pillow just beside my head! It was quite weird at first but I got used to it πŸ™‚

      • Awwwww!! Yep, that’s what my Derick does. He used to just put his head on the pillow, now it’s his whole body. He gave himself a promotion πŸ™‚

    • Aww, that is definitely a good way to look at it! My entire family is animal lovers (except for my late Grandmother who blowed cigarette smoke in my hamster’s cage hoping it would die because she thought it looked like a rat!)

    • Thanks so much for your kind words Ivonne. My mom had it bad with these dogs, she lost her Chihuahua, Fawnie about a year ago. They have two new ones now, both about a year old. Oliver is a Chihuahua and Ally is a Chihuahua, Jack Russell and maybe Pitbull mix. Ally is a sweet dog. Oliver is a terrior. He’s so small and he scares me with all his yapping. Fawn was the best of all of them and her death hurt the most.

      • Fawn wasn’t a yapper so we’re not used to it. I go over there and I won’t even go near the small dog, Oliver.

        LOL, yeah, we definitely need a technique to shush kids — and certain women, but that’s a “tk” (to come) post!

  • Today would have been my K9 sister Lexi’s birthday. We had to say goodbye to her last October. She was a rescue, so we estimate that she would have been about 15 or 16 years old. She had lived with us for about nine years. Why is it so extra hard to lose a pet? Even when they have good, long lives, it’s just not long enough. My humans and I are very sorry for the loss of Little Bear. Our thoughts are with your sister.

  • What do you think?

