St. Patrick’s Memory from 2003

Published March 16, 2013 by Maryanne

clover

I was going through some of my old journals and I found this story from St. Patrick’s weekend, 2003. I was 39-years-old.

I was in midtown Manhattan with a friend and saw the play, “H.P. Lovecraft: Nightmare Suite” at the Common Basis Theatre. The play was decent, but the real fun was the bus ride home.

The night before I was out and did some heavy duty drinking, so after the play I was very tired. I just wanted to get back to my place and share a bottle of wine with my friend. I figured I could take a nap on the bus ride home and be rejuvenated 40-minutes later when the bus reached my apartment.

But no such luck.

In the seat right behind us, there was this annoying teenager, thinking the world revolved around her, yakking into her cell phone. Her voice was beyond piercing and she wouldn’t shut up!

Since I couldn’t nap and she was so irritating, in order to drown her out I decided to be equally as obnoxious and have some fun by singing Sex Pistols songs at the top of my lungs in a cockney accent.

After singing, “Wanna Be Me,” “Anarchy in the U.K.” and “No Feelings” I moved on to themes from children’s television shows like Mr. Rogers’ “It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood …” and the Flintstones theme — also in a cockney accent. Then I sang a punk rock version of “Born Free.”

Surprisingly, no one on the bus got pissed off and the teenager finally stopped talking on her cell. So I stopped to catch my breath.

After a brief moment of silence, a couple of drunken Irish men started singing Irish songs. I thought it was very polite of them to wait until my “concert” was over and they were really good. In fact they were so good that my friend and I applauded after every song and encouraged them to: “Sing another one! Sing another one!” So they did.

They entertained us all the way to the bus stop in front of my apartment in New Jersey. I almost didn’t want to get off the bus!

I filed this memory under “The Day I was the Warm-up Act for a Wonderful Drunken Irish Singing Group.” Probably one of the best St. Patrick’s weekends I ever had! And I’m not even Irish.

12 comments on “St. Patrick’s Memory from 2003

  • When I think of St. Patrick’s Day I think of my mom playing her Bing Crosby record of Irish songs that included songs like Who Stole the Overall From Mrs. Murphy’s Chowder and the second verse was Nobody answered so she shouted all the louder.

  • AmaZing story!!★thaNXxx!♡♬☪✒❉❇❤❣

    Sent from my iPhone !!!~(*v*)~>^:^<!!! ƸӜƷ*~* ☾~✼* ✼~☀✼♩ ♫_❤*★

  • Haha, you’re crazy, in a good way 😉 Great story, I now know what to when chatty teenagers are driving me crazy on the bus. Fight crazy with crazier lol 🙂

    Thanks for sharing!

    All the best Maryanne 🙂

    Rohan.

  • What do you think?

