Chapter 2 of My Music Book

Published March 26, 2013 by Maryanne

Lori BurtonLori Burton inspired me! (Photo from Google Search)

Here is chapter 2 of the music memoir I am working on. Any feedback appreciated.

CHAPTER 2 – Number 9 Dream

High school was not a fun place for me and I never got why. It wasn’t until many later years, when I started my own home-based business that I learned I am way too creative to live by any structure. And I am not a team player either.

I did my duty and got good grades in some classes like art, music theory (I, II and III), creative writing, English and child development. And got by the skin of my teeth in other areas, including gym, which is surprising because later in life I became a health advocate who exercises regularly and follows a pretty impressive health regimen.

I found it so hard to fit in with other kids. No one really interested me except a dreamy poetic soul named Sandy who I became friends with. Sandy, like me, wore satin pants to school. She once told me, “When I brought these pants I said, ‘Good-bye to Sandra Dee’” quoting from the popular movie “Grease.” Like me, Sandy was trying to find her way. But Sandy found her niche with the smart kids who wrote for the school newspaper and those who went to Bible studies; whereas I never found my niche, only a part of me could connect with any given group. I just couldn’t commit myself as others did. I was too much a free spirit.

I crossed my school days off the calendar like a prisoner counting down his jail time. I dreamed about being like the rock chicks and rock muses I saw in Rock Scene magazine. I bleached my hair blonde to look like they did – Cyrinda Foxe, Debbie Harry, Cherie Curie and Nancy Spungeon.

Needless to say, this did not fly in 1979 where suburban kids in Little Falls, New Jersey were still grasping on to the Summer of Love and thought Jim Morrison was God. All fine and good, but at the time I fancied myself a modern girl at heart and was more into The Sex Pistols (but kept my Doors records stashed away in a closet because every so often I liked hearing the song “Touch Me.”)

My room didn’t even look like the rooms of other kids – well, at least not the girls, who kept dolls on their canapé beds. The walls of my bedroom were plastered with Creem magazine covers. And my prized collection was a beautiful bookcase my mom got me, where the bottom part was large enough to fit records. My growing album collection was filling up the bookcase nicely.

Kids in school threw rocks at me because I wore a lot of eye make-up and had bleached blonde hair with the roots showing. Extremely tame compared to what rock kids eventually morphed into in years to come. Today young people have magenta hair and facial piercings, and depending on where you live, it’s socially accepted. But sad to say bullying is still a very serious issue, which no child or teen should have to endure.

Even though my musical tastes were more modern than my school mates, I did get along fine with my music theory class and spent some time hanging out with some of the guys in that class, like my friend Teddy, an easy going, laid back Dead Head who was very nice to me and allowed me into his circle, even though some of his friends didn’t get me.

Teddy had a very cool cousin, George Hall who went to another school in West Milford, but came down to visit from time to time. George and I were both very into music and became friends fast. We went to see the movie “Hair” one night and the next night George invited me over to dinner at his father’s.

His father, Warren Hall, lived in a townhouse, The Claridge House in Verona owned by his girlfriend, Lori Burton (Cicala). Lori was a famous singer and song writer. She sang back up with May Pang and John Lennon on his song, “Number 9 Dream.”

The gold record was hanging up in the dining room. She also wrote the song, “Ain’t Gonna Eat out My Heart Anymore” which was recorded by the Rascals, as well as one of my favorite bands at the time, Angel. So needless to say, I was impressed to have met her.

I got along great with Lori and she was a loyal friend to me even when not in my presence. George once told me he shared with Lori that I was having problems with other kids in school because I had bleached blonde hair and wore heavy eye make-up.

But Lori defended me and said, “So what’s a little bit of eye make-up?” Little did she know at the time her words changed my life.

While guidance counselors and the school psychiatrist felt it best that I change my image to fit in with the other students, I stuck to my guns and continued to be the “me” I felt most comfortable with.

The only time I ever looked somewhat like the other students was one Halloween when I came to school without make-up and wore jeans and a Grateful Dead t-shirt I borrowed from a girl who borrowed my clothes to be a rock chick. Everyone told me I looked pretty without make-up, but it just wasn’t me. I couldn’t wait to get back to being the real Maryanne again the next day. Back to normal. My normal.

Thank you, Lori Burton, for making me realize that everyone has their own personality and should embrace wherever they are at – at that moment.

No one should change for anyone. I’m glad I didn’t.

 By Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta, COPYRIGHT 2013

10 comments on “Chapter 2 of My Music Book

  • Hey Maryanne,
    I have found your nice blog, which I really like it. I enjoyed to read your writings.
    I was wondering if you would be interested in sharing your posts and ideas on Glipho? It’s a quite new social publishing platform for bloggers like you. 🙂

  • I am neither an editor nor professional, literary critic. I only know what I like. Since this is only Chapter 2 from your memoirs I’m anticipating it all leads up to something extraordinary in your life.

    I only know MM through your postings about the many topics that pique your interest. They are very well written and easy to read, easy to comprehend. For that you deserve the appropriate accolades. Nevertheless, the memoirs of ordinary folk make for ordinary events which most of us have already had similar experiences. We’ve dealt with high school bullies, searched for our niche, met a few famous folks, etc. It’s nothing new and the reason fact, though interesting, is more boring than fiction.

    If you’re writing for an audience of friends and family, it’ll be a great read, because I personally find your life interesting and envy some of it. Moreover, I want to know what makes you tick. If you’re writing for the rest of the world who doesn’t know you, it’s an ordinary life.

    What extraordinary event or events in MM’s life will make the world say “Wow!” and turn the next page? You’re a professional editor, so I believe you will crtically understand my feedback.

    Lastly, I am looking forward to Chapter 3, but I want to read Chapter 1, but can’t seem to find the elusive bugger. Is it published?

    • Ah-ha, that’s exactly what I was afraid of and why I’ve been putting off writing this book for years.

      Something actually happened recently where a good friend said why I should write this book and his reasoning made so much sense. (I have to be vague here, but if you want the full truth, please email me: maryannechristiano@gmail.com)

      What I think will make the people turn the pages is how an ordinary girl from NJ, without a college degree, made became a professional journalist and later home business owner by sheer determination — against all odds.

      The chapters will start getting interesting once I come to work at Outlaw Biker and my work became world published; and later when my brushes with fame weren’t accidental anymore but via business.

      I’ve dated a few famous people which would make it interesting, but I’m not spilling the beans. It’s just going to be an honest book that focuses on the positive with a ton of name dropping (in a good way).

      I’ll find Chapter 1 for you now.

      Thanks so much for your comments, much appreciated!

    • Yeah, that seemed to be what I did too, float from group to group. Now in middle age my friendships are more solid than ever. Once my life became stable in other areas, it was easier to be a better friend.

  • What do you think?

