Carrie on!

Published April 17, 2013 by Maryanne

CarrieSissy Spacek, the original “Carrie” (1976)

In 1974, at age 11, I was told to hide my book by a fellow student because I could get in trouble for having it in school. The controversial book was “Carrie” by Stephen King, a horror novel about a shy, awkward high school student abused by both her Christian fundamentalist mother and school bullies. (Ironically, the girl who was nice enough to tell me to hide the book turned out to be an insecure bully herself).

When the movie came out in 1976, I loved it! I must have watched it several times since then, of course cheering on Carrie who got her revenge via telekinetic powers. Go Carrie!

In 1999 “Carrie 2: The Rage” was released. It was the sequel to “Carrie” with some guest appearances from original cast members. It was made modern with a sex scandal. Emily Bergl plays the main character Rachel and does a great job, as does the rest of the cast. It had some “read between the lines” messages that you could pick up on, which I always love.

Carrie 2Emily Bergl, “Carrie 2: The Rage” (1999)

Last night I saw “Carrie” was on On Demand and decided to watch it with my husband, mistakenly assuming it was “The Rage” but it was yet another “Carrie” — from 2002! It was spectacular. Angela Bettis played “Carrie” and she was phenomenal. I will definitely watch for her in other things. This plot stayed true to the original but was a bit more graphic. I loved how they gave Carrie a little more spunk too, where even in her innocence she wasn’t afraid to mouth off to the bullies. It was great how she told the Sue Snell character, “Everyone thinks they’re better than me. It’s okay, they can. But they’re not right.” And that strut on Bettis killed me! She was a riot, possibly putting her in first place as my favorite Carrie. How did I miss this one all these years?

Emily - CarrieAngela Bettis “Carrie (2002)”

Now, Googling today, I find there will be yet another “Carrie” starring Chloë Grace Moretz; and Julianne Moore playing Carrie’s mom (I can’t picture Julianne Moore for this role, she is just too sexy, but she’s a great actress so I’m sure it will work). I know Chloe’s work from the new “Dark Shadows.” She’s a good actress but from the trailer I’m thinking maybe she’s not weird enough. But the fact that she is pretty makes sense because bullies usually pick on girls they are jealous of. And modern day technology of cell phone photos in the locker room makes the bullying even more intense.

carrie 2013Chloë Grace Moretz, “Carrie (2013)”

The role for the 2013 Carrie  was originally offered to Lindsay Lohan, who I adore and feel would make a great Carrie too, but unless she goes on a raw food diet and stops drinking, she may look too old to play a high school girl.

Too bad “Carrie” wasn’t remade in the 1980s as well. Winona Ryder would make the ultimate “Carrie.” (And I can just see Johnny Depp as Tommy Ross — sigh!)

So, this new “Carrie” is due out later this year — October, perfect for the Halloween season. And it looks scary!

I am so psyched!

Carrie on!

Carrie 2013 movie trailer

7 comments on “Carrie on!

  • I totally loved Carrie when I first read the book – I think I was about 12 or 13 – It was before the movie came out. It was one of my favorite books by Stephen King. I could actually relate to Carrie and I found the book and the movie to be quite sad really – I didn’t find it to be a horror film at all. ANYWAY – I didn’t know about the Angela Bettis “Carrie” I may have to check it out.

  • I also related with the original character but believe it or not, actually watched is because John Travolta (who I had a major crush on) was in the original. I almost stopped liking him because of his nasty character! What did I know….I was just a kid!

  • What do you think?

