East Side High School, Paterson, New Jersey

Published May 21, 2013 by Maryanne

SAM_0869Photo by Me

Today was a thrill because I got to cover a story (to be posted at a future date) at East Side High School.

East Side High School is the famous high school that Principal Joe Clark taught at.

Who is Joe Clark, you may ask? Joe Clark is the person the 1989 film “Lean on Me” was based on. East Side High School was considered the toughest school in the 1980s and principal Joe Clark walked around with a baseball bat in his hand.

Last year I interviewed a few of the students who were at East Side while Joe Clark was there. You can read my article from April, 2012 here and hear how Joe Clark influenced students: http://thealternativepress.com/towns/paterson/articles/stories-of-success-25-years-later-eastside-alum

On the way over there I had to drive on the famous Market Street.

Market Street is famous (in my mind, at least) because that is where I, as a little girl in the 1960s, dropped my Bugs Bunny doll — in the middle of the street amongst traffic.

My grandmother ran into the street and stopped a bus so I could pick up my Bugs Bunny doll!

A few years ago, I found a similar Bugs Bunny doll in an antique shop and my husband got it for me. Who knows, it could be the same doll, right? I always wondered where that doll went! We moved a lot, so I’m sure it got lost along the way and now I have it again. (Proof that if something comes back to you — it’s yours!)

SAM_0871Also, love this old Barney’s furniture building, so I took a shot of it.

12 comments on “East Side High School, Paterson, New Jersey

    • Yeah, Grandma has a lot of cute stories πŸ™‚

      Glad you liked the article. It was over a year ago but still relevant as they are still trying to raise funds to make the movie.

  • Way to go … a cover piece. Impressive. Good back story as well. When I went to Don Bosco and we played Eastside in basketball, I remember how scary a place it was to visit. Eastside-Central Thanksgiving football games often had sub “games” in the stands or around Hincliffe Stadium. When I worked at the Paterson News, I remember the controversy of moving all athletic events to afternoons. I remember the race riots and the drugs … and Joe Clark. Most of my dad and mom’s families were Eastside graduates and I remember them talking about the “old days” before the denigration. The memories this brought back. Thanks.

    • LOL, sorry for the mix up — this is an online newspaper, by “cover a piece” I meant write about a story, not that it was on the cover πŸ™‚

      Wow, I love to hear about the history of Paterson. I mistakenly thought my mom went to East Side (I got confused because she said something about East Paterson, which is now Elmwood Park). She went to a school called Central. We got the Paterson News in the 1970s! I LOVED that paper as a kid! (I think I told you that already, but I can talk about cool things over and over!)

  • Does anyone know where I might be able to purchase : 1970 Eastside High School, Paterson NJ Yearbook

    I would so appreciate your help.

    Thank you

  • My father went to East Side High School in the mid-late 50s and his family owned Barney’s Furniture (now out of business but the sign remains).

  • What do you think?

