Happiness Now!

Published June 1, 2013 by Maryanne

Happiness

While I always have so many exciting things going on in my life, it’s also important not to overlook the little things that make me happy from day to day. So here’s a little list of the “little” things that have been going on the past few days … in no particular order.

1. I think it’s so great that several people who aren’t on WordPress have created accounts to comment on my blogs (and some from several months back, which is so super cool to know someone likes your blog enough to go back and read previous months!) YEAH, go me!

2. Yesterday I was in a boutique and found a great outfit, including shoes and earrings, for a wedding on Sunday. I love boutiques — not malls. I love the personal touch. I love how in a boutique the owners will run around for you, scouting out the perfect shoe for your outfit. It makes you feel like Julia Roberts in “Pretty Woman” every time!

3. Twice this week I was told — in person (not on the internet) that IΒ  look younger than I am. Once I heard 29 (from a woman around my age) Another time I heard 35 (from a teenage girl). I am 49! So good health habits definitely pay off!

4. I FINALLY got around to learning how to give communion to the home bound. So — YAY — I am now officially part of the Caring Ministry! I also offered to make phone calls to the home bound who may be lonely.

5. MY CAT BILLY IS GETTING HEALTHY AGAIN! I am so happy!! Billy who is 19 was not doing too well. But thanks to some medication recommended by the vet, he is walking better, eating more and no longer hiding! This cat will definitely live to see 20. I am beyond psyched!!

6. I was so inspired by a 15-year-old girl who came to our door selling cookies and candles last night. She had a top notch personality to begin with and she seemed to really like my husband and I because she kept talking to us. One thing she said really touched my heart and soul. She said that she gave a free box of cookies to a mother of an autistic child and paid for it out of her own pocket. She said, “I know how hard life can be.” She also had asthma but was working so hard in the heat. She was such a little doll and so good hearted, I just wanted to adopt her right then and there. At the end of our conversation, I said, “I HAVE to give you a hug!” and I hugged her. Kids like that are the best!

7. I’ve said it before, and I have to say it again — my husband is just the best! It’s such a blessing to have someone constantly on your side, doing so much to make your life happy. He’s just too good! We never take each other for granted. We always call and email each other during the day and send each other pictures of cute animals, make up silly songs for each other. My heart still races when he comes home from work! I LOVE YOU DENNIS!

8. May 2013 was the best money-making “May” since I started my business in 2009! And 80 percent doing what I love best, WRITING! (The other 20 percent of my money was made managing my entertainers and one author). And the beauty of it all is, I’m not busting my ass either. I’ve had many days off, sometimes even four days in a row (not including the holiday weekends) which gave me some extra time to visit church and go to bible studies during the week. NICE!

I love all the editors I am currently working with and all my musical clients and the author. Life is just so perfect when you can work with people you love and respect, even when during times it’s not perfect.

9. Last night I dreamed my grandmother was alive again! She went to a scary movie that I recommended and thanked me for the recommendation. (The movie dream was so scary it woke me up — but then I was able to get up and do some work at 5 a.m. and I love the early mornings!)

10. It’s June and I have at least FOUR concerts to look forward to this month, starting with Jay & the Americans at the IZOD tonite!

There are a lot more, but I’ll stop here because the sun is shining so brightly in my office window and I want to get this wonderful day started!

 

19 comments on “Happiness Now!

  • Maryanne, That was most positive blog I have ever read anywhere. I too think your healthy lifestyle makes you look much younger. I would have believed you if you said you were 30. Your blog just radiated happiness and hope you enjoy seeing Jay and the Americans tonite.

  • Hope Jay and the Americans sing “She Cried” tonight, which a disc jockey liked so much, that he played it for six hours according to their website. The Jay you will see tonight is the third Jay to front the group. Sandy bought the name when one of the members went bankrupt and Sandy was one of the original Jay and the Americans. Looking forward to your review of the show.

    • No, this is the original Jay Black. I know because one of my clients performs with Jay and the Americans and this isn’t it. He’s actually billed as “Jay Black” so my mistake πŸ™‚

      • I saw the original Jay Black; and the new Jay and the Americans you speak of and they are good too, but let’s face it, the voice is the act. One of the only bands that ever pulled off having a new singer was in my opinion Queen because the talent in that band is so strong and it can still be Queen with Roger Taylor and Brian May. (Others may disagree, but that’s how I feel and I am a DIE HARD Queen fan).

        But let’s stay on topic here … and the topic is HAPPINESS. We’ll talk about the show when I post about it tomorrow πŸ™‚

  • This is wonderful Maryanne! I have a lot to be thankful for too, but it’s so easy to take it for granted. I should write a list like this too. Here’s two things I’m thankful for at the moment: 1. It’s the weekend – yea!! 2. You are following my blog!! I think you’re such a cool person, and I love that you’re following my blog and sharing your thoughts and insights with me. Celeste πŸ™‚

  • This is so great and such a good reminder to take the time and be thankful for all the GOOD in your life. Everyone has something that makes them happy. I could go on with my list forever.

    You do not look your age whatsoever. I would say late 20’s at the most. That’s really incredible!!

  • What do you think?

