Richard Nader’s Doo Wop Celebration XXIV, IZOD

Published June 2, 2013 by Maryanne

SAM_1002Me in front of the IZOD

SAM_1006My husband Dennis and I enjoying the show

SAM_1030Jay Siegel’s Tokens

SAM_1037Me with Deborah Nader

SAM_1048Gene “Duke of Earl” Chandler

I am so grateful to Deborah Nader (http://www.richardnader.com/) giving my husband and I comp tickets to last night’s show!

It was a fabulous night to watch all the stars come out: Jay Black, Gene Chandler, John Kuse & The Excellents, Lenny Coco & The Chimes, The Duprees, Jay Siegel’s Tokens, Maurice Williams and the Zodiacs, Tommy Mara & The Crests, Twin Gold and the Whip-Tones (from Whippany, NJ).

I was thrilled to meet Jay Siegel during intermission. The Tokens have a special place in my heart because the year I was born, 1963, their song “The Lion Sleeps Tonite” was a hit, and my favorite hit of that year!

Other highlights of the show were when Maurice Williams and the Zodiacs sang “Little Darling” and an Elvis impersonator, Craig Newell, came out. And when Jay Black, at age 75, hit the high notes of “Cara Mia.” Every single act was excellent!

The show was 3.5 hours long, with a brief intermission.

I’m still on such a high from the show — so many great songs and acts, one right after another!

20 comments on “Richard Nader’s Doo Wop Celebration XXIV, IZOD

    • Hi Craig! Thank you so much for taking the time to read my blog! I’ve corrected the information. Are you the Elvis impersonator that used to perform at Liberty Tavern in Fords? My husband and I caught you act quite a few times πŸ™‚

      • Backstage Maurice Williams was saying to me, “Craig, I always wanted to meet that man, Elvis, and then when I saw he had my song “Little Darlin” on his album “Moody Blue” (Elvis Presley’s last album), I thought for sure now I would get my chance to meet him. But that never happened because then he died.” He genuinely looked sad when he said that last line. He said pretty much the same story to the audience just before he called me on stage.

      • Aw, I remember that. It’s really sad he never got to meet Elvis. I loved the “Moody Blue” album. My uncle had it on blue vinyl back in the 1970s. Elvis was a hit at our home. My grandmother loved him so much, when she died we buried her wearing her Elvis watch.

  • What do you think?

