Happy Birthday Ian Hunter!!!

Published June 3, 2013 by Maryanne

Maryanne's Jukebox

Ian HunterIan Hunter at Hoboken Arts & Music Festival, May 1, 2011

(My husband, Dennis took this photo!)

Ian Hunter's GuitarIan Hunter’s guitar

(Dennis took this photo too, we walked on stage after the show)

Maryanne and Steve HolleyMe and Steve Holley (who played with Ian Hunter at Hoboken Music Fest, 2011)

Ian Hunter is 73 today!

Ian Hunter has always been a hit on my home stereo system. I loved him and Mott the Hoople since I was 13.

Two years ago it was so amazing to see him perform live and be so close to the stage at the Hoboken Arts & Music Festival

Here are some of my favorite Ian Hunter songs:

“You Nearly Did Me In” Ian Hunter (Listen to the background vocals, it’s Freddie Mercury, Roger Taylor and Brian May!)

“Irene Wilde” (A gorgeous song, I carried a lyric from this song in my wallet for many years!)

3,000 Miles From…

View original post 35 more words

3 comments on “Happy Birthday Ian Hunter!!!

  • Love Mott The Hoople! Looks like you had a great time. Nice photos too!

    I love the thought of carrying around a favorite lyric. I used to put inspirational thoughts in my wallet so everything I put money in or out, I’d see it. Time to start doing that again.

    • It was so terrific, we had such a great time, got so close, he did so many amazing songs. The quote I carried was from the song Irene Wilde: “And I think most folks agree, a little put down makes them see, they ain’t no chain, just a link and that’s why you made me think, I’m gonna be somebody, someday.” And when that one wore out, I started carrying e.e. cummings quote.

  • What do you think?

