Ugly Toes

Published June 14, 2013 by Maryanne

Ugly Toes

little piggies

Let’s keep those piggies pretty, ladies!

Ladies, it’s summer and I know how you all love to wear comfortable flip flops, open-toe shoes and sandals, but please, I BEG of you, keep those 10 little piggies PRETTY!

Honestly, it doesn’t take that much effort to keep your feet clean and make sure your toe nail polish is done. If that’s too hard, please consider ballerina flats for summer, or a cute pair of sneakers. NOBODY — and I mean NOBODY — likes to see neglected toe nails.

The other day I saw a woman with so much chipped toe nail polish, one toe was completely bare of polish. C’mon … seriously? It does not take long to paint a set of toenails. Personally, I do it every day, using a different color each day to match my outfit (which is why I don’t get professional pedicures, for someone concerned about having nice toe nails as I am, it would be pricey — besides, I think I do a better job doing it myself anyway).

I highly recommend Gabriel Cosmetics for quick drying action and a variety of gorgeous colors.

Alf ELFΒ  has fabulous nail polish remover pads. They really get the job done, including stubborn dark colors. They are cheap and efficient. So if you think you don’t have time to polish your toenails, at least take the old chipped toe nail polish off!

And if you have rough feet, a quick scrub with a pumice in the shower is a good thing. But eating healthy will keep the heels of your feet soft and you won’t have to do anything.

No excuses ladies — do the world a favor and make your feet look pretty as possible! It’s just for a short summer season anyway. If you want to go back to having ugly toes in the winter, be my guest, it’s your life. As long as I don’t have to look at them.

Retro Foot Spa

23 comments on “Ugly Toes

  • Haha!! Maryanne you crack me up! I was hysterical by the first line with that image discussing chipped toe nail polish & raging boners. πŸ˜›
    I am the same way. You’re not alone. I don’t like seeing snaggly toes either. I have powder blue on right now. πŸ˜€ I like pastels, makes my fair skin look a little darker.

  • Oh this is too much and soooooo true. One of my biggest pet peeves is chipped polish on anyone – it is down right ugly and piggish. That is one reason why I only keep clear polish on my fingers, but my toes? I have to have them painted – they are a metallic orange right now. Luckily the polish on the toes last a long time because even though I can still function while I wait for my toes to dry (unlike the fingers) I really don’t have time to polish them every day no way, mostly because I am always in closed toe shoes these days.

    Thanks for the tip on the fast drying polish and especially on the remover – I am going to look for this, because it can take a long time to rub off the dark polish and especially the polish with the glitter in it – it’s like I need a sand blaster or something. But I really need a fast drying polish – yesterday after I did my toes my husband came home and I went to give him a hug and bumped my toe on his foot and smudged the polish – had to do that one over, I swear it had been a good hour before that I had applied the paint.

    But I totally agree PLease no nasty toes!!!! Even keeping them nude is better than chipped – as long as the nails are clean and trimmed.

    • Yep, I don’t even do my fingernails for that very reason (and wow, they look so shiny and healthy from all those years going without polish!)

      I remember the old days before I had the fast drying polish. It took so long and was so aggravating. I got into a fight with an ex-friend over it because her kid wanted to play and I told her to wait and I’d play in a half hour or so. The kid started crying and saying she hated me. (And this wasn’t a 2-year-old, but a 10-year-old!) Of course the mom took the kid’s side. All in the name of nice toenails — hee-hee. Makes you wonder if these ugly toed women were manipulated by a child πŸ˜‰

      • BOOMERANG!!! Yes, that was fantastic. I love that movie. Also after I wrote this it reminded me of a cute story. I used to have this neighbor in my younger day, a handsome blonde gentleman, into the goth scene. He was so brokenhearted when his girl left him, we became buddies and hung out, went to a lot of clubs, just friends though. Anyway, a few months later, he met this gorgeous, sweet adorable natural redhead. She was not only one of the prettiest girls I ever saw in my life, but the nicest too. One day we all went to a health spa party. I got a foot massage and them to get one. He did but she didn’t. She didn’t to take off her shoes because she said her feet were ugly. Finally she just said, “What the hell!” And she was right. She had the hammer toe. But I was like, “Damn woman, you’re so perfect, you want nice feet too?!” πŸ™‚

        I had another super beautiful friend that had toes like a toad. When I saw her feet for the first time when we were going to the beach I had a similar reaction πŸ™‚

        I can go on and on with feet stories … I have many!

      • I think most people have cute feet, but neglecting them with the chipped nail polish grates my nerves. I’m lucky I have cute feet, but I don’t have the gorgeous head of hair other women have so I work with what I got. It all balances out, the trick is knowing what to do with what you have. But being so lazy that you can’t even fix your toenails — I’m sorry there is just no excuse, except a death of a spouse or child. Painting toenails is the fastest, cheapest beauty thing you can do for yourself πŸ™‚

      • LOLFR (Laughing Out Loud For Real!) Glad I made you laugh, hun! Speaking of nail polish, I have something super cool to email you. Check your email in like two seconds, this is pretty amazing πŸ™‚

  • Thanks for putting a poem virus in my head. I can’t get the words out of my head after reading it.

    I’m pretty sure pretty toes is a seasonal event. Every summer my wife and I hit the cosmetic isles looking for the polishes and the latest painted toenail trends to make those piggies sexy. Purple hues are my favorite and I love it when her pretty, painted toes are close to my cheeks. πŸ˜‰

  • What do you think?

