Miss Utah Made a Mistake – So What!

Published June 17, 2013 by Maryanne

Miss Utah

I heard the news today, oh boy.

It’s so pathetic that with all else that is going on in the world the media chooses to poke fun at a Miss USA pageant contestant, Marissa Powell, fumbling up her answer during the opinion segment of the contest: http://www.foxnews.com/entertainment/2013/06/17/create-education-better-miss-utah-botches-answer-at-miss-usa-pageant/

Perhaps she had momentary stage fright.

Perhaps she had a brain freeze.

Don’t we all at one point or another?

No, I guess not, all of you are just PERFECT.

This reminds me of last week when I was in a Hallmark store trying to find a card for my father-in-law. Having a brain freeze (or a pre-senior moment) I mistakenly asked the sales person, “Where are the daughter-in-law cards?”

Boy, did she rip me one! “WE DON’T CARRY DAUGHTER-IN-LAW CARDS!” she scolded in a haughty, condescendingly annoying 1898 school marm tone. (And she was at least 10 years younger than me!)

Excuse me, I’m so sorry I’m not Miss Perfect like you are! (And P.S. – my I.Q. is 145, that is pretty good, so I am not stupid and even if I was I’m still a GOOD PERSON and that counts much more than brains in my book because brains doesn’t = class!) Maybe YOU are the dumb one for not putting two and two together and realizing, “Yeah, I know what you mean, Father’s Day is coming up, you want a father-in-law card.”

It’s awfully pathetic to live in a world where everything is based on perfectionism and making a lot of money. Where people have no patience for others and are always seeking an opportunity to look better than someone else. That’s it, knock them down, throw them under the bus and kick ’em while you’re at it.

Oh, yeah, I bet America is digging the Miss Utah faux pau BIG TIME, because how can anyone possibly be so gorgeous and smart too? Miss Utah must be punished for being so good looking, so let’s all make a great big deal about her mistake. Yeah, this is NEWS! Stop the presses!

Thanks America, for once again putting women back to the 1800s.

Well, Miss Utah, if by any chance you are reading this, as an older woman, I can give you some sincere sisterly advice and leave you with the words of my dear beloved late grandmother: “Tell them all to go fuck themselves!”

grandma 1918Good ‘ole Gramma!

 

10 comments on “Miss Utah Made a Mistake – So What!

  • I basically live under a rock when it comes to things like this, but I doubt she could have said anything worse than the Miss South Carolina did a few years ago. Dear Gods, that girl was so pathetic (in a wtf is she even trying to say here kind of way). But we’re human, and we all err from time to time.

    On another note, what the heck is so horrible about carrying daughter in law cards? Are they inherently flammable or something? I hope not, because my local Hallmark store puts them right next to a rack of candles! 😉

    • She sure did! 🙂

      My grandmother had this way of saying ANYTHING and still coming off as cute and charming. She’s the only person I met in my life that could get away with doing that. She had a cousin that lost his eye in a freak accident. She’d always say to him, “Carmen you used to be such a good looking man, what they hell happened to you?!” If that was anyone else it would be mean and crass, but in Grandma’s case, she gave Carmen a good laugh 🙂

  • I would hate to make a mistake on national TV-
    I can’t believe how rude that sales clerk was to you – I mean no daughter in law cards? Really – I have seen cards for dog weddings! Anyway – she didn’t have to make you feel so stupid.

    • Yeah, me too! Luckily the few times I’ve been on the radio it went perfectly!

      And, exactly! It’s on my “to do” list to complain to Hallmark about that store 🙂

  • What is wrong with humans these days? It seems as if the only way they think they can build themselves up is by tearing someone else down. In the end, it just makes the person doing the tearing down look very very small. P.S. Your grandmother was priceless!

  • Great post Maryanne! I actually like seeing celebrities making mistakes. It makes them more human, more likeable. It also makes me feel better about myself because I screw up all the time. And love your grandma!! Celeste 🙂

  • What do you think?

