I Believe in Good Omens

Published June 19, 2013 by Maryanne

SAM_1220My beautiful Billy Cat, age 19

My heart has been breaking into pieces this past week as I’m watching my kitty’s health get worse and worse. He’s been back and forth to the vet so many times. The main issue is arthritis and thyroid trouble. About a month ago we had to put an additional litter box downstairs because Billy couldn’t climb the stairs anymore. He lost so much weight, he’s like a little bag of bones. Now he’s having the worst time walking.

Dennis and I are babying him, but also trying to encourage him to walk to help build up strength. His new “home” is hiding behind the sofa. We put a little cat bed back there, along with a stuffed animal and an electric blanket. Last night my husband massaged Billy’s backside as he laid on the living room floor. I laid next to him and he was holding me with his paw. Billy and I fell asleep together.

Tomorrow he’s going to an animal hospital that has a veterinary acupuncturist on staff.

I’m a firm believer in acupuncture. It cured my husband’s allergies. It got rid of my pre-menstral breast pain. It always helps when I have back pain or sciatica — so much so that I don’t have to go again for months. Here’s an article I wrote about acupuncture for a health column I used to have: http://verona.patch.com/articles/the-benefits-of-acupuncture-no-pain-all-gain

Interesting, just a few hours after my husband told me about Billy’s appointment, I received a phone call from one of my editors asking if I’d cover a story at the children’s hospital tomorrow.

And guess what the story is about? Little cancer patients who are gaining strength through acupuncture and other natural therapies! What a coincidence and what a good omen. This is definitely God’s way of telling us there is always HOPE.

I am ecstatic and honored to write such a positive story! Tomorrow will definitely be a celebration of natural remedies. I think my Billy will be on the road to a new life in his golden years!

I’m so excited for him!

11 comments on “I Believe in Good Omens

  • My mommy completely understands how worried you are about Billy, but we want to share some encouraging words with you. My late canine sister Lexi did something to herself (we have no idea what) and it was nearly impossible for her to turn her head or move her front legs, so off to the vet she went. We have an excellent vet clinic and they do acupuncture there. After Lexi’s first treatment, the vet put her on the ground and she ran around like the terrier-mix terror she was. She had treatments over about three months, and she continued to improve until she no longer needed to go. Our vet also gave her some Chinese herbs. I hope Billy has the same great results. Paws crossed for you.

  • HEre*s to Billy*s appointment brinGing strength and heAling!!!xox◉✄♥☞♬✏✱❋❣

    Sent from my iPhone !!!~(*v*)~>^:^<!!! ƸӜƷ*~* ☾~✼* ✼~☀✼♩ ♫_❤*★

    • Yes, it breaks my heart watching this little critter suffer, a baby who has been with me 19 years — longer than any jobs I’ve had or homes I’ve lived in! The appointment isn’t until 4 p.m. and because of my work I won’t be able to go with my husband. But after reading the testimony from Miss Harper Lee above, I am so happy to hear that acupuncture for pets actually works! Now, fingers crossed ….

  • What do you think?

