NJ Actor, Dead at 51

Published June 20, 2013 by Maryanne

James Gandolfini. photo: Barry WetcherJames Gandolfini

NJ actor, James Gandolfini, best known for his leading role in “The Sopranos” died yesterday at the age of 51.

Follow blogger, Card Castles in the Sky, wrote a beautiful tribute to him: http://cardcastlesinthesky.wordpress.com/2013/06/20/a-true-jersey-boy/comment-page-1/#comment-1068

As I said in my response to Card Castle’s blog:

I never watched the show, but have some funny memories in regard to the show.

One time I saw James Gandolfini in person at a mall. I guess he was doing a promotional thing. All these middle-aged women were chasing after him. It was hysterical and cute. I never realized how young he was and after witnessing this, obviously a sex symbol to some.

Then another time I was on a bus back from NYC, right after 9/11 and there was a marsh fire in the Meadowlands area. All I saw was the smoke and thinking suspiciously it was another act of terrorism. All this was going through my brain as I was stuck in traffic. Then this guy screams out, “Oh no! Now I’m gonna miss The Sopranos!” It must have been SOME show for that to be the biggest thought going through someone’s head right after 9/11!

Sad to see someone so young go. He’s only a year older than me!

4 comments on “NJ Actor, Dead at 51

  • He was great in the Sopranos. I hardly ever missed an episode. There’s something about that whole bad boy thing that I haven’t grown out of! LMAO So sad and what a great loss. Rest in peace, Mr James Gandolfini! You went far too young. Hugs Paula xxxx

  • What do you think?

