Billy Cat Update

Published June 24, 2013 by Maryanne

SAM_1220Billy Cat, 19, had his first acupuncture treatment on Thursday.

The pet acupuncturist said he has a lot of life in him and thinks he can get better within three treatments.

Friday he was doing better, but Saturday he took a turn for the worse. He’ll have another treatment this week in addition to yet another trip to the regular vet.

We are doing everything we can to get this cat walking again. His poor thyroid is depleting the vitamins and not allowing him to keep weight on (he’s eating A LOT of healthy stuff!) so it’s affecting his back legs and now it seems his front legs too. As for now, he can’t walk at all and goes to the bathroom on himself. Dennis gives him a sponge bath twice a day and we massage him too. He is bright-eyed, alert and purring like crazy. So it breaks my heart when people tell me to put the cat down, which is mean and ridiculous as he is NOT in pain! No cries, no yelps, just purrs whenever we are near him. Hasn’t stopped purring at all. He’s alert and his eyes follow us everywhere.

Every night, we lay with our baby on the living room floor since he can’t climb the stairs to sleep with us anymore. I fall asleep as Billy holds me with his paw.

This is breaking my heart. This is a good cat that I’ve had since he was a kitten. He wouldn’t have lived so long if I wasn’t a good cat Mommy.

I’ve been crying for two days straight now. We had a wonderful weekend at the concerts, but by Sunday I was simply exhausted holding in my feelings about my kitty. I could barely move to do anything and we got to the church picnic very late and by then everyone was packing up, so we basically missed it.

My stomach was burning this morning, I couldn’t eat breakfast.

I don’t know what the fate is for this cat. The pet acupuncturist has high hopes. I hope she is correct. There is nothing wrong with this cat except he can’t walk. I’ve seen pets that got by beautifully that had no legs. (Not saying he’s going to be amputated, just saying that his health is not bad and I’m so mad at anyone who suggests putting him down!).

I’m sad and mad and miserable. It was fine being distracted with my work today. Now it is night. Another night to cry and hold my beautiful cat.

 

26 comments on “Billy Cat Update

  • Sending love anD pRayers and hopE!!..xxxoox◉✄♥☞♬✏✱❋❣

    Sent from my iPhone !!!~(*v*)~>^:^<!!! ƸӜƷ*~* ☾~✼* ✼~☀✼♩ ♫_❤*★

  • Maryanne and Dennis, as a fellow pet lover – and without wishing to go into detail – I know what you’re going through. My thoughts are with you and Billy.I hope the further treatment pulls him through.

  • My humans and I are so sorry to hear that Billy is struggling. My paws are crossed for him, and my humans are sending good vibes his way. My mommy slept on the floor with her last Golden Retriever for a month, so she knows what you’re going through. It’s hard. Hang in there.

  • What do you think?

