My Prized Guitar Pick Collection

Published July 7, 2013 by Maryanne

SAM_1496The late Dee Dee Ramone played bass with this very pick!

As some of you know I’m a major music fan and went to hundreds of shows over the years. And over the years, especially in my younger day, I was always up front at the shows and therefore built up quite a collection of guitar picks from famous guitarists and bassists. Tonite I present to you, from my very own scrap book, some of the more impressive ones!

I saw The Ramones play so many times, and the above is from Dee Dee, the bassist.

SAM_1491From legendary late Johnny Thunders

I was too young to see the original New York Dolls, but I followed Johnny Thunders all over NYC, seeing him perform at least 25 times (the most I’ve seen any performer!)

SAM_1505Steve Jones 

I was too young to see Steve Jones play guitar with the Sex Pistols, but followed him all over NYC and New Jersey when he played with The Professionals a few years later. Amazing guitarist and song writer, great guy too!

SAM_1485Richie Stotts of The Plasmatics

SAM_1494More picks from Richie Stotts, Plasmatics

The Plasmatics were always my favorite live band and it was so easy to get picks from them, as I have six from Richie Stotts. And for years I’ve kept pieces of flower pots that Wendy O. Williams smashed onstage, as well as pieces from the demolished television sets, etc.

I love how banged up Stotts’s picks are! How great is that?

From what I can remember, other picks I have include: Steve Diggle of The Buzzcocks, Dick Dale, and Rick Nielson from Cheap Trick.

Funny story about the Cheap Trick pick. It was in the early 1990s when rubber dresses were in vogue. (Remember Pamela Anderson in “Barbed Wire” or Heather Locklear on the cover of Details magazine?) At the time I was young, single, good looking and in excellent shape. So, being in vogue, I had a rubber dress too. Mine was similar to the one Heather Locklear wore on the cover of Details magazine. I was in the front, wearing my rubber dress and Rick Nielson kept trying to get pick in my cleavage! Well, he succeeded and I still have the pick.

Another time, I’ll share set lists! ENJOY!

9 comments on “My Prized Guitar Pick Collection

  • Hi Maryanne,

    Why am I not surprised by this?

    I collected a few set lists back then. My favorite is one of PYLON’s from the “New Peppermint Lounge” on 15th Street. They all had written their names on the back with little drawings.

    • Hi Brian! Ha-ha, yeah, from one music fan to another, right? 1980s, definitely a great time for music .. just wish I was about five years older so I could have seen The Dolls original line-up. Would have also loved to see Angel, and Mott the Hoople play with Queen in the 1970s … sigh… but at least I caught the tail end of the 1980s goodies 🙂

  • OnE of my fAve poSts eVerr!!☇☪♬✄❤✂✑✒♡➡❣✼ & an awe inSpiring preCious treAsure pik collection. !!! ☇☪♬✄❤✂✑✒♡➡❣✼

    Sent from my iPhone !!!~(*v*)~>^:^<!!! ƸӜƷ*~* ☾~✼* ✼~☀✼♩ ♫_❤*★

  • What do you think?

