A Hank Snow Story

Published August 3, 2013 by Maryanne

Hank-Snow-Movin'-On---30-Songs

Last night my husband and I were in Vintage Vinyl and I found a case with a TON of Hank Snow CDs — dirt cheap. I was wondering, “What is up with all these Hank Snow CDs?” figuring someone donating or a Vintage Vinyl worker went to a garage sale and found them.

In my vast music collection I had no Hank Snow, so I figured I’d pick up one. They were only $1.99 each. I got one with three songs I love: “Movin’ On,” “Now and Then, There’s a Fool Such As I” and “I’ve been Everywhere.”

I got to the register and the cashier said, “We have a lot of Hank Snow!”

I said, “Yeah, what’s up with that?”

She said that a Hank Snow fan passed away and his family donated the CDs.

She also added that the man was such a fan that he was buried wearing a suit, previously owned by Hank Snow!

I thought that was the coolest, wildest thing! (As my late grandmother was buried wearing her Elvis Presley watch!)

7 comments on “A Hank Snow Story

  • The songs you mentioned on your Hank Snow album did well on the record charts:
    “Movin’ On” went to No.1 in 1949
    “Now and Then There’s a Fool Such as I” was No.3 in 1952
    “I’ve Been Everywhere” was another No.1 song for Hank in 1962 and was the last of his seven No.1 hits.

    Hank had a terrible childhood when he was forced to live with his grandmother who physically and verbally abused him, then moved in with his mother and his stepfather also abused Hank physically and verbally. He couldn’t take any more abuse and got a non-paying job on a fishing schooner at the age of 12 in 1926. He wound up in Nashville in 1945 and the rest is history. The Canadian singer from Nova Scotia turned a rotten childhood into a career as a country singer.

    • Thanks for the background information, Andrew! That is so sad.

      You heard Elvis’s versions of “Movin On’ and “Fool Such As I” right? I used to work with a man who actually saw Elvis warm up for Hank Snow. I can’t imagine Elvis as a warm-up act, can you?

      • I think I remember Elvis singing the songs you mentioned, especially Fool Such As I. I think Col. Parker managed Hank Snow at one time, so may be how Elvis got the job opening for Hank. Elvis was definitely not an opening act for very long.

      • Yeah, the guy who saw the show said all the girls were screaming and he couldn’t imagine what they were screaming about. Then he saw Elvis hit the stage! He was there to see Hank Snow and got to see Elvis! What a bonus!

  • What do you think?

