Historic Burlington, New Jersey

Published August 18, 2013 by Maryanne

SAM_2059Cute diner we saw on the way driving in to Burlington

Today my husband and I spent the afternoon exploring historic Burlington, New Jersey. We got a late start and ended up eating before we got to town at an vegetarian Indian restaurant at a town about 15 minutes away. It was so cute, I asked the owner if everything was truly vegetarian at the buffet. He said that one of the items had cheese so, “Don’t eat that!” Everything was absolutely delicious.

Then we got to town and walked around, did some antiquing and sight seeing.

SAM_2060Mercury and Me!

SAM_2063SAM_2065SAM_2066Old fashioned ice cream parlor

SAM_2068Old Coke bottles inside ice cream parlor

The ice cream parlor didn’t have coffee … I don’t eat ice cream, but later in the day I had a wonderful treat (keep reading!)

SAM_2070More cuteness inside the ice cream shop

SAM_2071SAM_2075My Love!

SAM_2078

So after our little trip to Burlington (which was short because many shops were closed for Sunday), we took the back roads home. I told my husband to stop if he see an Asian market.

He asked me what I wanted at the Asian market.

A durian!

He knew of a huge Asian market in Edison, about 15 minutes from our home. It was massive, but right away I found what I was looking for — durian, the king of all fruit! Once I found the durian, I had no desire to look at anything else. What could be better than durian? I couldn’t wait to get home to stick the knife in and get all the fruit out of the pods. This was a big one and I got four bowls of fruit from it. Dennis had just a little taste, but I ate two bowls and now have two bowls left for tomorrow — that will be my birthday breakfast!

I was like, “Screw birthday cake — I have durian!”

durianDurian, the king of all fruit!

For those who don’t know, I love durian so much, I have the fruit tattooed on my lower leg!

14 comments on “Historic Burlington, New Jersey

  • Amy’s Omelet House ROCKS! I have been there several times, they have an absolutely sick selection of omelets…something like 250 of them. And they’re huge, with a big helping of home fries to go with them. It’s a little far from me, but I love Amy’s!

      • Not sure if they have organic eggs (to be honest, I didn’t even know such a thing existed :-), but I’m pretty sure they have healthier omelets than the “Jalapeno Hell Hole” I used to get…I eat healthy most of the time, but I indulge once in a while…

      • Yeah, I always buy organic/cafe free eggs, I’m a health nut. When I was in Chicago last year I stayed at a hotel that had organic eggs and I was thrilled.

        But, yes, I looked at their menu (and wow, what a cute website too!) and they have stuff I’d eat, so it’s definitely on the “to do” list! Thanks for the recommendation.

    • Yeah, durian is so delicious! It tastes like a combination of hazelnut and vanilla. It’s rich and creamy, like a pudding. It has more vitamins than any other fruit and it’s very filling.

  • ◉✄♥☞♬✏✱❋❣hApppY birrrthdAy beeaUtiFuL brilliAnt MArYannnnE.!!.. the duriAn is a sigN of achievinG youR wishes◉✄♥☞♬✏✱❋❣xxx

    Sent from my iPhone !!!~(*v*)~>^:^<!!! ƸӜƷ*~* ☾~✼* ✼~☀✼♩ ♫_❤*★

  • What do you think?

