Heading Out for More Figs!

Published September 2, 2013 by Maryanne

SAM_2309

The other night my husband and I went shopping for some items to make a dish for a Labor Day party.

He suggested loading up on some stuff for the future, but I’m more of a day-to-day shopper. Always was, always will be.

The thing is, in life, you never really know where you’ll be from one day to the next. Someone might invite you out somewhere or something unexpected can happen (like a storm or power outage and then all your food goes bad).

So, to me, I feel most comfortable shopping as I go along, rather than stocking up, because stocking up never works out and I hate throwing good food away. And I prefer fresh food to canned goods. Someone once suggested that I freeze juice. I looked at her like she had two heads.

It doesn’t bother me to go out and buy food almost every day. There’s always a grocery store, a health food store, a farmer’s market, or leftovers from a restaurant. And if worse comes to worse, there’s always take-out/delivery.

Not to mention the fact that I can’t get everything I want in one store anyway. It’s all about variety.

When I compare prices and quality, I go to the indie health food stores for the freshest produce, Shop Rite for the cheapest GT’s Kombucha, Trader Joe’s for the best priced vegetarian rennetless cheese and Fairway for the cheapest raw, untoasted seaweed. If I was to do all this in one day, it would eat up at least five hours!

But when make stops a little at a time, it feels like you’re never doing chores. And that’s my secret to happiness, to never feel like you’re making an effort to do anything!

 

6 comments on “Heading Out for More Figs!

  • Wish I had a Trader Joe’s…or a kosher/Jewish deli around me. It’d be so much easier to get rennetless cheeses! As it is, I have to pay through the nose at the Mother Earth Storehouse an hour away, or wait for a major Jewish holiday that makes the grocery stores stock up on a larger variety of kosher foods! You’re lucky… 🙂

  • I love that idea! 🙂 And the way you shop.
    I’ve been trying to work out what would be the best way for me to shop as well.
    Throwing food out is just a waste of money. I’ve headed to the markets and so far I think it’s the best way for me. Do you know a really yummy Couscous dish? If you don’t mind and had some spare time…anytime actually, whenever! I would love it! I’m not the worlds greatest cook. LMAO You look gorgeous and I so love the bag! Hugs Paula xxxx

    • Do you get the Near East products in your area, Paula? If so, they have couscous boxed mixes that are easy to prepare. I’m not the greatest cook either, I do mostly stove top stir fries. If I get ambitious I’ll do a raw soup in the food processor. Thanks for the compliment! Hugs! xo

  • What do you think?

