Billy in the Sky

Published September 20, 2013 by Maryanne

Billy in the Sky“Billy in the Sky” (Art collaboration between my husband and his friend Patrick, photos by me)

Dennis and I are still very heart-broken over the loss of our Billy Cat, who we had to put to sleep at age 19, on September 3.

The other night we received Billy’s ashes and paw print from our vet. It was done so beautifully, the little box has a gold name plate and the paw print has a little heart on it.

I’m still having a hard time getting through the day. My heart is pained and the loss is so great. I have to be honest and say that it’s sad that some people just don’t get it, which makes the loss even more painful and harder to heal.

I am so grateful for all the animal lover friends and family I have that do get it. Those who have helped in the most heartfelt ways. I will never forget the kindness.

In honor of Billy, I had his picture put on new address labels I had printed and I wrote a dedication to him in my upcoming October newsletter.

I still miss him terribly. Our home still feels empty without his presence.

We will always love you, Billy.

27 comments on “Billy in the Sky

  • MaryAnne, I for one certainly get how you feel and your sense of pain and loss. Even though our dog Lady passed away nearly three years ago and my girlfriend decided the house was too empty without her that she bought a new pup to try to focus our attention on, we think of Lady every day and miss her enormously.

    I just wish our vet at that time (we go to a new one now with Alfie) had been as sensitive as yours has been in dealing with that loss.

    • Aw, thanks so much for your kind words, Dave, it truly means a lot to us. Like you and your girl, I’m positive we’ll still miss Billy terribly even if we got another kitten or a dog. My mom’s beloved dog died over a year ago, she got two more and still misses the one that died. It’s a terrible thing to go through. Good luck with your new vet. Our is a long drive from us, but definitely worth it — the entire staff was so good with Billy and true they handled his death with great care and sensitivity.

  • A lovely memorial to your beloved Billy Cat – looking at his picture, reading and listening to the song makes me smile with tears in my eyes! Animals are a special gift from God. He designed them so wonderfully! They bring us much joy! You’ll always miss him. Thank you for giving Billy such a good and loving home all these years!! Peace to your hearts during this sad time.

    I, too, know the pain, I miss my Snowy, a darling cat that brought joy and love to our hearts for 21 years!

    ❤ carmen

    • Aw, thanks so much Carmen for your kind words. And my condolences to the loss of your Snowy too. It’s amazing when you give so much love how long they live, right? My little Derick is still going strong at 17, but I know he now misses Billy and is confused. xo

  • Sorry to hear about your loss Maryanne. My dog Jamie was put to sleep a year ago and I still miss him everyday. Billy was a beautiful looking cat and I’m certain he brought a great deal of joy to your lives – and you to his 🙂

    • Aw, thanks so much for your kind words. And I’m so sorry about your dog Jamie. Pets certainly do bring a lot of joy to your life — they are family. And the longer you have them, the more you connect with them. I’ll miss all the cute Billy things he did, that’s for sure.

      • Oh, he’s definitely still with me because after he died another dream of mine came true. Same thing happened right after my grandmother died. Also other little signs around the house to let me “know” he’s in peace. 🙂

    • Thank you so much … it just bothers me when people call pets things like “companion animals” — I would never use such a cold term — they are our babies, our family … it’s not like “aw, the cat died,” it’s a true loss where you mourn for a long time! I take good care of my health and I am still not feeling up to par because of this.

  • What do you think?

