How to Draw Your Pet

Published October 19, 2013 by Maryanne

BillyOriginal photograph

SAM_2679My drawing (time: 1.5 hours)

Michael Malzone is another friend I reconnected with on Face Book. He has a wonderful art workshop in Pompton Plains, New Jersey (http://www.creatorsworkshop.com/). I spent the afternoon taking a class on “How to Draw Your Pet.”

This was the first art class I ever took since grammar school, so I think I did pretty good for a first try. I was in a class with one other adult and the rest were kids.

I had such a fun time. Michael is an excellent teacher with a great sense of humor. If anyone is in the area, I highly recommend his classes. His techniques make art pretty easy. Today we used the “grid” method. Great artists such as Leonardo Da Vinci have used this fun method.

SAM_2678“Mr. Mike” and one of his masterpieces!

SAM_2682Me, Michael, and young art students

16 comments on “How to Draw Your Pet

  • soOoo inspiRinG!!!..& a beautiful tribuTe with gentle stroNg eNerGy!!!β—‰βœ„β™₯β˜žβ˜…Β·.·´¯`Β·.Β·β˜… β˜…Β·.·´¯`Β·.Β·β˜…β™¬βœβ–„β–€β–„β–€mβ–€βœ±β‹β£βœΏβœ―

    Sent from my iPhone !!!~(*v*)~>^:^

  • Nice job! Cats are hard to draw, even great artists seem to have a hard time capturing the eyes, but you did it perfectly. Do you plan on adding color? I think his nose is fine, anyway – it’s all about the eyes to me. πŸ™‚

    • Aw, thanks so much! Great to hear from a real artist! In everything I’ve ever drawn I think this is the first time I got the eyes correct. I didn’t think of adding color, I’m afraid I’ll ruin it without proper art direction πŸ™‚

  • What do you think?

