Dancing in the Rain

Published May 24, 2014 by Maryanne

Rain

I must be the luckiest person in the world.

Yesterday, I spent the second half of the day writing my second book and decided to go for a bike ride since it was so gorgeous out. Well, I got half way around the park and it started drizzling. I thought I’d be able to make it home, but then suddenly it was torrential, almost blinding and I was stuck.

I had no cell phone with me. It was just me and my bike. So there I was, out in the middle of a park, about to enter a wooded area. I was stranded and helpless.

I had no choice but to knock on the door of a random home for shelter and to ask if I could use the phone to call my husband Dennis.

In this day and age, I don’t make it a habit of knocking on random doors, but we live in a lovely area and I heard children, so I figured it was safe.

The children answered the door and I asked, “Can I speak to your Mom and Dad? I need to use the phone.”

The dad came out and said “Sure.”

Then the mom came out and she screamed, “MARYANNE!”

She knew me! Then I recognized her from church! She invited me in. Her husband let me use his cell to call my husband. Dennis wasn’t home yet, so the husband was nice enough to give me a ride home! The wife offered me a glass of wine or tea, but I was soaking wet and said I’d prefer the ride. (Plus, I didn’t want Dennis to worry about me). They were so nice they said they’d keep my bike in their garage until I was able to pick it up!

Of all the homes I could have knocked on the door, what are the chances of me picking out a random home that turned out to be the home of someone I knew from church? If you’re not a believer of God or a higher power, this story will definitely make you a believer!

When I got home, safe, to my husband, we had such a laugh over this. I was drenched and couldn’t wait to get changed, but we both just stood there laughing and laughing at how funny and cool this story was! A definite dance in the rain!

4 comments on “Dancing in the Rain

  • What do you think?

