Paleo/Vegetarian Avocado Kale Slaw

Published June 26, 2014 by Maryanne

SAM_5026Photo by Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta

I’ve been eating a vegetarian version of paleo for about two weeks now. I can’t do enough to rave about this lifestyle. It’s easier than raw. I feel full and satisfied. My blood sugar doesn’t drop and best of all, I can eat all I want without gaining weight (note, I do work out every day, 10 to 40 minutes). But what really amazes me about eating this way is how super soft my face is!

Here’s a WOW! recipe I found in a paleo magazine … it was so delicious it blew me away! I will make this salad every day until I get sick of it, it was perfect and has everything you need: healthy protein, healthy fats, greens, etc.

It serves four, but if you have a fast metabolism like I do, you can definitely polish off all four servings in one sitting.

Avocado Kale Slaw

Ingredients (I used all organic)

6 cups chopped kale (of course remove stems)

1 cup shredded carrots

1/2 cup finely chopped red onion

1/4 cup roasted sunflower seeds

1/2 medium ripe avocado

1/4 cup coconut milk and 1/4 cup water

2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice

2 Tbsp raw honey (or use agave if you want this to be a VEGAN salad)

1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar (I use Bragg’s with “the mother”)

1 Tbsp extra-virgin olive oil (I used cold-pressed)

1 Tsp Dijon mustard

1/2 Tsp. garlic powder

Sea salt and black pepper to taste (which I didn’t even use because it was sooooo delicious and flavorful without!)

Combine the kale, carrots, onion and sunflower seeds in a large bowl.

Scoop the avocado flesh into a blender or food processor. Add the coconut milk, water, lemon juice, honey, vinegar, olive oil, mustard and garlic powder. Blend until creamy and smooth. Pour the dressing over the salad and toss to coat. Season with salt and pepper before serving.

What do you think?

