Met My First WordPress Friend in Person!

Published July 19, 2014 by Maryanne

SAM_5327Two bloggers! (Me and Joanne!)

I met so many amazing people via WordPress, but the one I most wanted to meet was Joanne Best! We are both Jersey girls, we love the same music, saw the same bands, went to the same nightclubs, are in the same age bracket, are both writers and we both have great personalities! We even look like sisters!

I don’t remember if she first found my blog or I first found hers, but we had a great connection from day one. In fact, it was thanks to her that I pushed to get my book out a little faster than I anticipated when Joanne wrote on her, “I need this book!”

Joanne was also the first person to post my first interview on her blog!

Interesting, I was in her area twice this week … Tuesday evening when I went to a concert and today when I did a book reading at Old Bridge Library. I was ecstatic to see Joanne walk through the door! When people tell me they’re going to show up, I never take it for granted that they will. Plus, I knew she had somewhere else to go. So you can imagine how happy I was to see her! And she gives the BEST hugs!!

I love you Joanne! I can’t wait to get together again when we can hang out longer!

And thanks to WordPress for bringing like-minds together 🙂

Another friend who came to my book signing today, was John, a friend I met on Live Journal around 2002! He used to come see me DJ in NYC all the time. Once in awhile we run into each other (like at the Gary Numan concert last year) or meet for lunch.

SAM_5323Me and John

4 comments on “Met My First WordPress Friend in Person!

  • Oh my! I’m blushing now! Meeting you in person was like seeing a long lost sister, you are such an inspiration to me, and so many others but I’m being selfish right now 😉 I was sad that I had to go to a “Must Attend Or Else” baby shower afterward but a little bird sitting in a pear tree told me you’ll be at the Sayreville Library on Monday. I have to play chess with my schedule but I’m hoping to pull a checkmate so I can be there. Because how can I not?
    Ok there are reasons that may keep me from getting there but I’m going to try like crazy! ❤

  • What do you think?

