The Cowsills, Levitt Pavillion, Bethlehem, PA, Aug. 31, 2014

Published August 31, 2014 by Maryanne

SAM_5903Anticipating the show!

SAM_5907And I knew, I knew, I knew, I knew, they would make me happy, happy, happy!

SAM_5928Original Cowsills: Susan, Paul and Bob

SAM_5938Gorgeous Susan

How can anyone not love The Cowsills? Their harmonies are off the hook and they had great, catchy hits. Even the more obscure songs are fantastic if you buy all their records and CDs, there’s so much to enjoy. Though they’re best known for “Hair,” “The Rain, the Park and Other Things,” and “Love American Style.” They’re the real family band The Partridge Family was emulated after.

Last night was the first time my husband and I saw them perform. They hit the stage and I heard the first note of “The Rain, the Park and Other Things” and like a big mush, tears fell from my eyes. It’s a beautiful, happy song and after hearing it since I was a little girl, to see the people who did it performing right before me — and so perfectly too — it was absolutely surreal!

Original members included: Susan, Paul and Bob Cowsill. Other members: Ryan Cowsill on keyboard, Brendon Cowsill on guitar and Robby Scharf on bass.

After the show I was able to get the set list, so here it is:

The Rain, The Park and Other Things

You Were On My Mind

Deliver Me

Most of All

The Boxer

You In My Mind

Just Believe It

Be My Baby

We Can Fly

Indian Lake (Note: at this point they invited the children up on stage, it was absolutely precious).

Puff the Magic Dragon

If I Had My Way

Helpless Hoping

Covered Wagon

River of Love

Love American Style (By now, I was hanging at the stage front, singing along with the band and dancing!)

I Think I Love You (Written by Tony Romeo, who also wrote their song “Indian Lake” and many other great songs, including songs by another favorite of mine — Lou Christie!)

Going Home

Hair (Hearing this legendary song live blew my mind! All the years I imagined dancing to it at a night club, now I got to dance to The Cowsills performing it right in front of me!)

After “Hair” they came out and did “The Rain, The Park and Other Things” as an encore, then had a meet and great. I had them sign my set list.  They were very nice people. It was an honor and I’m still high the next day!

SAM_5951So cool meeting the band! Such nice people 🙂

SAM_5957Autograph on back of set list.

I love that Bob wrote “Thank You!” – Doesn’t get more real than that!

3 comments on “The Cowsills, Levitt Pavillion, Bethlehem, PA, Aug. 31, 2014

    • We’re not far from Pennsylvania. Only a little over an hour to Bethlehem. We got a hotel though and stayed over night. Last week, during the week, we stayed in Philly two days. We love Pennsylvania!

  • What do you think?

