“Guest List” Book Signing at Randy Now’s Man Cave in Bordentown

Published October 5, 2014 by Maryanne

SAM_6195Stu Deutsch, Maryanne Mistretta and Randy Now

(Posing for photograph for newspaper photographer, Deirdre Ryan!)

Today was absolutely incredible for me.

I was signing copies of my book “On the Guest  List: Adventures of a Music Journalist” alongside of Stu Deutsch, original Plasmatics drummer!

Now, go back to 1980. I had first met Stu Deutsch at a record store in Wayne called Looney Tunes. Stu was signing autographs with The Plasmatics. I was a fan and only 17 and Stu was cool enough to put me on the guest list to see the show that night. Back then they didn’t have “all ages” shows like they do today. Plus the fact that I was bullied in school, having a super cool rock star like Stu put me on the guest list meant the world to me! Who would have ever thought one day we’d be signing autographs together?!

It was so great conversing with fellow Plasmatics fans. I met the coolest people today! I loved seeing all the Plasmatics shirts people wore, and all the old vinyl they brought for Stu to sign. It was also cool that a woman got my book just because she’s collects books that authors sign! And gorgeous NJ weather too!

Thanks so much to Randy Now of Man Cave for having me at this extraordinary event! It was the experience of a lifetime. I’m ecstatic!

If you want to purchase “Guest List” (which has a few Plasmatics stories) please go to Next Century Store: http://www.nextcenturystore.com/non-fiction/other/on-the-guest-list-adventures-of-a-music-journalist.html

SAM_6142Stu Deutsch and Maryanne Mistretta

SAM_6176Signing autographs

SAM_6154With my husband!

4 comments on ““Guest List” Book Signing at Randy Now’s Man Cave in Bordentown

  • What do you think?

