Happy National Candy Day!

Published November 4, 2014 by Maryanne

Candy

Just a few days after Halloween and already there’s another day to celebrate CANDY! Yes, it’s National Candy Day, which doesn’t mean much to me, as I’m 51-years-old and a health conscious paleo person. And when I do feel like pigging out, I’m more of a salty chips girl.

But even though I’m not a “candy girl” I do appreciate the idea of candy. I think kids should be kids and a few treats in moderation is A-OK in my book and I’m taking this day to share all things candy.

ENJOY MY TRIBUTE!

STORIES

Grandma and Her Milky Way Bars

Even though my grandmother was a diabetic, sadly it didn’t stop her from eating treats. Her favorite was the Milky Way Bar (not named after the galaxy, but a malt shop drink). One day my Mom and I were visiting her grave and there was a Milky Way wrapper lying beside the grave. My mother said, “Grandma must have been hungry.” We had a good laugh.

Too Cute to Eat

When I was a little girl, Haribo Gummy Bears (the original) were my favorite candy. Until I realized I was eating cute little bears. “They are too cute to eat,” I declared and didn’t eat them as much. And then when I realized what gelatin was made of, I stopped eating them altogether.

 

haribo14504

HEALTHIER CHOICES

Paul Newman Organics – Prior to eating paleo, I was a fan of Paul Newman’s organic line: raisins, salad dressings, cookies, and of course candy. I’ll never forget where I was on the day he died in September 2008. I was on the Wildwood Boardwalk and heard the news on the radio in the ladies room. A woman about my age said, “Did I hear right?” Sadly, yes. That night in his honor, I had a Paul Newman’s organic dark chocolate peanut butter cup.

Organic Dark Chocolate – 85 percent cacao is another one of the wiser choices if you’re having a sweet tooth.

Dark chocolate

But my real favorite treat is Emmy’s Macaroons! All natural and raw, meaning you get all the enzymes of the good stuff like coconut, lemons, chai, etc.!Β  PALEO APPROVED — yay!

Emmys-Organics-Macaroons-Coconut-Vanilla-705105749808

 

SONGS

Who doesn’t love Sammy Davis Jr.’s “Candy Man”?

Aw, chewy! (“Chewy, Chewy” by The Ohio Express)

“My Boy Lollipop” (Millie Small)

“I Want Candy” (Bow Wow Wow)

 

 

13 comments on “Happy National Candy Day!

  • National Candy Day reminds me of when I was in high school. I wouldn’t eat lunch, so I could stop at a neighborhood grocery store, on the way home and buy a Big Time candy bar. My candy bar diet worked, since I weighed 120 pounds, when I graduated from high school.

  • What do you think?

