My Cat’s Got Sunshine, On a Cloudy Day

Published November 19, 2014 by Maryanne

MareDerickMe and Derick, 2005

My husband swore to God this happened last night and wishes I was awake to see it.

Now, all pet owners know first hand how loving pets can be, to the point where they do the cutest, unbelievable things. My 18-year-old cat, Derick, has always been “Mommy’s Little Heart.” From day one, as a kitten, he rarely left my side. He follows me around the house like a shadow.

Last night my husband put on a movie about The Temptations. I love them, but I’m a bit run down and I fell asleep on the couch while the movie was on. Derick was lying next to me, facing the television.

My husband said that as soon as they started performing “My Girl,” Derick moved to face me and was staring at me during the entire song! You can’t make this stuff up! I guess I’m my cat’s sunshine on a cloudy day! (And of course Derick is right on my lap as I type this blog!)

SAM_6304October 2014, still together

Our song 🙂

What do you think?

