Reach Out and Touch Someone

Published January 12, 2015 by Maryanne

old-fashioned-service
Earlier today someone called my home. It was a bad connection and we could barely hear each other, like an overseas phone call.

The guy kept repeating, “You don’t know who this is?”

“No, I don’t know who it is. Tell me.”

Then the guy starts yelling at me, “Grandma! You don’t even know your own grandson?!”

I said, “I’m sorry, I’m not your Grandma. You have the wrong number.”

He apologized. After we hung up I laughed. Then I really thought about what had happened and how sweet it was that someone, somewhere, was calling their grandmother. And how lucky they were to still have a grandmother. I was touched.

One comment on “Reach Out and Touch Someone

  • I last saw any of my grandparents about 35 years ago and even worse only saw the two sets of grandparents maybe about 4 times in my life, since we lived in Louisiana and my grandparents lived in Missouri and New Jersey. So it is good that the man was trying to call his grandmother.

  • What do you think?

