Confirmed! I’ll be Speaking for NotMom in Cleveland this October!

Published March 7, 2015 by Maryanne

SAM_6304Proud to be a Kitty Mom!

“National Be Heard Day” is a perfect day to share that October 9, I’ll be speaking for The Not Mom Summit in Cleveland, Ohio. My topic is: “Mean, Rude, or Ignorant? Smart Responses to Unsolicited Comments.”

I’m extremely honored that The Not Mom (http://thenotmom.com/) choose me to speak and even more proud is that they found me via this WordPress blog!

When I received an email from them, I was thrilled! For a little over a year I’ve been a public speaker in New Jersey at libraries, women’s groups, antique groups and assisted living facilities. Occasionally I’ve traveled to Pennsylvania to speak, but this will be the first official road trip I’ll be taking. The hotel where the event is held is right across the street from The Rock ‘n’ Roll Hall of Fame. I’ve been there before, but not with my husband, so we’re making this event an exciting road trip too.

For those interested, here is the blog that got the attention of The NotMom, my blog about Mommy Jacking: https://maryannemistretta.wordpress.com/2013/09/13/mommy-jacking/

I’ve also written another “not mom” type blog which I feel should be brought to attention as well, “Having Kids is a Blessing, But so is Not Having Kids”: https://maryannemistretta.wordpress.com/2012/06/15/having-kids-is-a-blessing-but-so-is-not-having-kids/

As a person who is basically shy and mostly vocal around people I love and trust most (or in front of an audience) blogging and writing professionally has helped give me a voice — a voice that spoke volumes, inspiring and influencing other people.

With this blog post, I’d love to encourage all of you readers, especially those who are shy and/or quiet, to continue writing your thoughts and views. You never know what the grand result may be.

See you in Cleveland!

Note: For a list of public speaking topics I offer, visit my website (www.peartreeenterprises.com). For pricing and availability, contact me at: maryannechristiano@gmail.com

6 comments on “Confirmed! I’ll be Speaking for NotMom in Cleveland this October!

  • Great outlook on not having kids. So many husbands and wives break up, because of differences in how kids should be raised, that it sometimes is better not to have kids. I speak from personal experience being divorced from first wife, because she thought screaming at kids would make them behave better, while I took the more conservative route, by talking to them like human beings, in a more rational manner.

  • What do you think?

