It’s Greek Coffee to Me!

Published April 26, 2015 by Maryanne

SAM_7150Oh, yeah!

Today I had my first Greek coffee ever. It was heavenly.

I love coffee, but I’m not a snob about it like I am with food. I’ll drink non-organic, Dunkin Donuts, espresso, etc. and mainly black when I’m out (and buttered at home, where I could blend it with my grass-fed butter and cold-pressed extra virgin coconut oil).

But after drinking Greek coffee, I may be ruined for anything else. It’s so rich and thick and gives you an incredible jolt of energy.

I tried this delightful treat at It’s Greek to Me in Holmdel, New Jersey. It’s Greek to Me is a chain restaurant, but foodies, do not let that discourage you. I’ve been a fan of this chain a few years now and the food is always super fresh. I had a small Greek salad and let me ask you, when does a foodie rave about romaine lettuce? When it tastes like it was just picked from the garden. When it’s so fresh that you just might confuse it with another type of green. I was so perplexed I asked the waiter, “What kind of lettuce is this?” I expected an exotic answer, but no, it was just romaine.

It’s Greek to Me has nine New Jersey locations. Until today, I’ve only been to the one in Clifton, but now I like this one so much better. As much as I always raved about how good the food was in Clifton … Holmdel has Clifton beat. The pita bread just melts in your mouth. Plus, the Holmdel eatery is more spacious.

Here’s a link to the It’s Greek to Me chain: http://itsgreektome.com/

The menu has a little something for everyone, including gluten free desserts (but I’d call the restaurant first to make sure, as I only saw the gluten free dessert on the Holmdel restaurant, not the Clifton one).

Other things I’ve tried in the past were the grilled octopus salad, the fresh beets, the Greek Fries (which are spiced to perfection with oregano and fresh lemon), grilled vegetables and baklava (a rich pastry with filo dough, walnuts and honey).

And let me add, this is one of the few restaurants in New Jersey that I went to more than once and ALWAYS got great service!

If you’re anti-chain restaurants, give this one a chance and you’ll definitely change your mind.

What do you think?

