Scars

Published April 28, 2015 by Maryanne

Touching Your Community.com

By Anne Harding

Being bullied during childhood may have even graver consequences for mental health in adulthood than being neglected or sexually abused, according to the first-ever study to tease out the effects of peer abuse from childhood maltreatment.

Children in the study who had been bullied by their peers, but didn’t suffer maltreatment from family members, were more likely to have depression and anxiety in adulthood than children who experienced child abuse but weren’t bullied, according to researchers from the United .States. and United Kingdom.

One in 3 children worldwide reports being bullied, Dieter Wolke, a professor of psychology at the University of Warwick in Coventry, England, and his colleagues note in their report, published today (April 28) in the journal Lancet Psychology. Studies have shown that victims of bullying have impaired stress responses and high levels of inflammation, as well as worse health and less workplace success as…

View original post 596 more words

4 comments on “Scars

    • Definitely, which is why I re-blogged this. And also I’d like to add something I didn’t realize until I was in my late 40s — when people bully or offer negative words, it’s because they are jealous. I’ve been bullied both as a child and as an adult by very negative insecure people. When you take it from the source, it puts a whole new dynamic on it and you grow to pity those who bully more than feel sorry for yourself for being bullied.

  • Words are just as, if not more powerful than fists. I encountered bullies early in life and asked my Father to teach me to fight. From there on, I never took shit from anyone and did everything I could to protect my friends from bullies. As much as I was able to defend myself against my tormentors, the feelings of being rejected and having to defend myself and physically hurt those who, for whatever reason, targeted me. Never fully healed. Thank you for taking your time to post this. JD

    • Thanks so much for your comments. In my book, “On the Guest List: Adventures of a Music Journalist” I address my issued with being bullied. But show that the results of ending up happily married and happily in a career I love illustrate that the bullies saw something in me that they envied, which proves my point in what I wrote above.

      But back to being a kid, my grandmother said “Get one good punch in to show you’re not scared.” Whether it was a punch, or a smart ass remark, or simply ignoring them I ended up doing pretty good for myself. And where are they now? Ha! 🙂

  • What do you think?

